Parliament Website

Closure Of Natwest Bank, Loftus

EDM number 663 in 1999-00, proposed by Ashok Kumar on 19/04/2000.

That this House condemns the decision by the Royal Bank of Scotland to close the Loftus, Cleveland, branch of Natwest Bank; notes with grave concern that this follows hard on the heels of closure announcements made by Barclays of their branches in the nearby villages of Skelton and Brotton; notes that hundreds of workers in local factories and at the local potash mine will be inconvenienced; sees this as closure by stealth which flies in the face of assurances made by the Royal Bank of Scotland at the time of their takeover of Natwest that there would be no branch rationalisation; sees this as yet another example of corporate greed trampling over community needs; and calls on the Board of the Royal Bank of Scotland to reconsider their decision in the light of those needs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Ashok Kumar19/04/2000Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourProposed
David Clark19/04/2000South ShieldsLabourSigned
Jim Cousins19/04/2000Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby19/04/2000Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Cummings19/04/2000EasingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin19/04/2000Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ian Gibson19/04/2000Norwich NorthLabourSigned
David Borrow19/04/2000South RibbleLabourSigned
Gerry Steinberg19/04/2000Durham, City ofLabourSigned
Ian Cawsey19/04/2000Brigg & GooleLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/04/2000Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Campbell19/04/2000TynemouthLabourSigned
Syd Rapson19/04/2000Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn19/04/2000JarrowLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle19/04/2000ChorleyLabourSigned
Brian Iddon19/04/2000Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Jenny Jones19/04/2000Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Andrew Love19/04/2000EdmontonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Denis Murphy19/04/2000WansbeckLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith19/04/2000Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ann Cryer02/05/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Vincent Cable02/05/2000TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Michie02/05/2000Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Alice Mahon03/05/2000HalifaxLabourSigned
Frank Cook03/05/2000Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Harry Barnes04/05/2000North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Mike Hancock05/05/2000Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn05/05/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson09/05/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lawrie Quinn11/05/2000Scarborough & WhitbyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley11/05/2000Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Martin Salter19/05/2000Reading WestLabourSigned
Win Griffiths23/05/2000BridgendLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.