Parliament Website

Rio Tinto And Health And Safety

EDM number 704 in 1999-00, proposed by Michael Clapham on 09/05/2000.

That this House is gravely concerned to learn that the London-based Rio Tinto, the largest mining company in the world, has made a series of false statements to the effect that during its operation of the Capper Pass Tin Smelter in Hull, it had fully complied with all environmental, health and safety regulations; notes that there is incontrovertible evidence that the Health and Safety Executive had served a statutory improvement notice identifying contravention of sections 2(1) and 3(1) of the Health and Safety at Work Etc, Act 1974 and section 63 of the Factories Act 1961 and that the Health and Safety Executive had also served upon the company a major report identifying the extremely limited competence of safety management, and major breaches of the Control of Substances Hazardous to Health Regulations 1989, the Control of Lead at Work Regulations 1980 and the Ionising Radiations Regulations 1985; further notes that there were repeated breaches of environmental regulations and statutory licences governing discharge of toxic substances into the River Humber; deplores the refusal of Rio Tinto to answer the specific allegations put to its Executive Chairman on 7th October 1999 concerning the promulgation of those false statements by senior executives of the company; and urges Her Majesty's Government to institute a full public inquiry and report back to this House.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs.

Michael Clapham09/05/2000Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourProposed
Martin Salter09/05/2000Reading WestLabourSigned
Ian Stewart09/05/2000EcclesLabourSigned
Tony Benn09/05/2000ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Harry Barnes09/05/2000North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Joe Ashton09/05/2000BassetlawLabourSigned
Irene Adams09/05/2000Paisley NorthLabourSigned
Norman Godman09/05/2000Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Ian Gibson09/05/2000Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn09/05/2000Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin09/05/2000Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Cryer09/05/2000HornchurchLabourSigned
Russell Brown09/05/2000DumfriesLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara09/05/2000Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Alice Mahon09/05/2000HalifaxLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/05/2000Luton NorthLabourSigned
Llew Smith09/05/2000Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner09/05/2000BolsoverLabourSigned
Terry Lewis10/05/2000WorsleyLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd10/05/2000Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Clarke10/05/2000Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/05/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Terry Davis10/05/2000Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
David Taylor10/05/2000North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Eric Illsley11/05/2000Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Mike Hancock11/05/2000Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ashok Kumar11/05/2000Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore11/05/2000HendonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson12/05/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Denis Murphy15/05/2000WansbeckLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/05/2000Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Cummings15/05/2000EasingtonLabourSigned
Phil Sawford16/05/2000KetteringLabourSigned
Jenny Jones16/05/2000Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara16/05/2000Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
John Gunnell16/05/2000Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Rudi Vis16/05/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle17/05/2000ChorleyLabourSigned
Joan Walley17/05/2000Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington17/05/2000Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe17/05/2000LeighLabourSigned
Ann Cryer17/05/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Michael Connarty18/05/2000Falkirk EastLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar22/05/2000Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
John Austin22/05/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Win Griffiths23/05/2000BridgendLabourSigned
Clive Efford25/05/2000ElthamLabourSigned
John McDonnell27/07/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.