Parliament Website

South Africa And The 2006 World Cup

EDM number 943 in 1999-00, proposed by Jenny Tonge on 10/07/2000.

That this House regrets the failure of Britain's bid to host the 2006 World Cup; further regrets that South Africa could not benefit from that loss; notes that the World Cup could have provided an increase of $2.44 billion to South Africa's GDP; further notes that this week's World Aids Conference in Durban has found South Africa to have 4.2 million people infected with HIV/AIDS, the highest rate in Africa; is dismayed that this money could have been used to curb the HIV/AIDS emergency; recognises that hosting the World Cup would have had social benefits within South Africa and brought attention to people across the world of the possibilities Africa has to offer; and therefore calls on the international sporting community to ensure that Africa does not miss out again on hosting a major international sporting event.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Jenny Tonge10/07/2000Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell11/07/2000ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Barnes11/07/2000North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Donald Gorrie11/07/2000Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Fearn11/07/2000SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin11/07/2000Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Terry Davis11/07/2000Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn11/07/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Eric Clarke11/07/2000MidlothianLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara11/07/2000Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Alice Mahon11/07/2000HalifaxLabourSigned
Nigel Jones11/07/2000CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle11/07/2000ChorleyLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders11/07/2000TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson12/07/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Marsden12/07/2000Shrewsbury & AtchamLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara12/07/2000Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Frank Cook12/07/2000Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Tony Banks12/07/2000West HamLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt12/07/2000Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Ashok Kumar13/07/2000Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Bill Tynan13/07/2000Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
John Austin13/07/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/07/2000Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby13/07/2000Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Vincent Cable13/07/2000TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Huw Edwards13/07/2000MonmouthLabourSigned
Paul Keetch17/07/2000HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe17/07/2000LeighLabourSigned
David Drew17/07/2000StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Bill Etherington17/07/2000Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Stewart18/07/2000Inverness East, Nairn and LochaberLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar18/07/2000Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell19/07/2000Fife North EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Efford20/07/2000ElthamLabourSigned
Rudi Vis25/07/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Nick Harvey27/07/2000North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell27/07/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Tony Clarke27/07/2000Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Diane Abbott27/07/2000Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Irene Adams27/07/2000Paisley NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.