Parliament Website

Lanarkshire Victoria Cross Memorial Campaign

EDM number 964 in 1999-00, proposed by Bill Tynan on 12/07/2000.

That this House congratulates Duncan Brown, the Lanarkshire artist, who discovered that 14 Lanarkshire men had received the Victoria Cross and subsequently immortalised their redoubtable bravery in a series of fine paintings; notes that the local newspaper, The Hamilton Advertiser, has published weekly, individual accounts of these gallant men's courageous actions for which they were rightly awarded the highest military honour in the land, the Victoria Cross; and believes that people everywhere would wish to associate themselves with the estimable campaign being run by The Hamilton Advertiser, which has raised, not only public awareness within the Lanarkshire communities, but substantial funding for a memorial to be erected in their everlasting honour.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Bill Tynan12/07/2000Hamilton SouthLabourProposed
Mohammad Sarwar12/07/2000Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
Jimmy Wray12/07/2000Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
Brian White12/07/2000North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Andrew Welsh12/07/2000AngusScottish National PartySigned
Ian Stewart12/07/2000EcclesLabourSigned
Irene Adams12/07/2000Paisley NorthLabourSigned
Donald Gorrie12/07/2000Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Godman12/07/2000Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Brian H Donohoe12/07/2000Cunninghame SouthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty12/07/2000Falkirk EastLabourSigned
Eric Clarke12/07/2000MidlothianLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/07/2000Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Russell Brown12/07/2000DumfriesLabourSigned
Jim Murphy12/07/2000Renfrewshire EastLabourSigned
John Maxton12/07/2000Glasgow, CathcartLabourSigned
David Marshall12/07/2000Glasgow, ShettlestonLabourSigned
Andrew MacKinlay12/07/2000ThurrockLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood12/07/2000ClydesdaleLabourSigned
Rachel Squire12/07/2000Dunfermline WestLabourSigned
Robert Smith12/07/2000West Aberdeenshire & KincardineLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham12/07/2000Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Maria Fyfe13/07/2000Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
John Austin13/07/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Bill Michie13/07/2000Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Nigel Jones13/07/2000CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle13/07/2000ChorleyLabourSigned
Margaret Ewing17/07/2000MorayScottish National PartySigned
George Galloway17/07/2000Glasgow, KelvinLabourSigned
Raymond Powell18/07/2000OgmoreLabourSigned
Julian Lewis18/07/2000New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Barry Jones19/07/2000Alyn & DeesideLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/07/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Harold Best24/07/2000Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis25/07/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alan Simpson26/07/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell27/07/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Tony Clarke27/07/2000Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn27/07/2000Newport WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.