Parliament Website

Flora London Marathon

EDM number 605 in 2000-01, proposed by Paul Marsden on 25/04/2001.

That this House congratulates the organisers of the Flora London Marathon 2001 for the way they professionally organised the race of 37,000 competitors of whom 32,000 finished; expresses deep sympathy for the family of Graham Barrow from Lancashire who died after the race; congratulates Abdelkader el Mouaziz from Morocco who won the men's race and Derartu Tulu from Ethiopia who won the women's race; expresses concern that Tulu was nearly assaulted on the finish line and urges the Home Secretary to investigate how security can be improved for next year's event; and thanks all volunteers and staff who made the race such a success and greatly appreciates the London crowds who made it a fun day out.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Paul Marsden25/04/2001Shrewsbury & AtchamLabourProposed
Bob Russell26/04/2001ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson26/04/2001Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle26/04/2001ChorleyLabourSigned
Simon Hughes26/04/2001North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones26/04/2001Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Harry Barnes26/04/2001North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Brian White26/04/2001North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Clive Efford27/04/2001ElthamLabourSigned
Frank Cook27/04/2001Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Tony Colman30/04/2001PutneyLabourSigned
Ian Davidson30/04/2001Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Mike Hancock30/04/2001Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alice Mahon01/05/2001HalifaxLabourSigned
Eric Illsley02/05/2001Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt02/05/2001Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
John Gunnell02/05/2001Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Win Griffiths02/05/2001BridgendLabourSigned
Tony Clarke02/05/2001Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham02/05/2001Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Dale Campbell-Savours02/05/2001WorkingtonLabourSigned
Nigel Jones02/05/2001CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Eileen Gordon03/05/2001RomfordLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge03/05/2001Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Jon Trickett03/05/2001HemsworthLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara09/05/2001Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington10/05/2001Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Tony BanksUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.