Parliament Website

Award Of City Status To Lisburn

EDM number 1040 in 2001-02, proposed by Jeffrey Donaldson on 20/03/2002.

That this House congratulates the people of the Borough of Lisburn on being awarded city status in this the Golden Jubilee Year of her Majesty the Queen; and welcomes this award as recognition of the fact that Lisburn is the second largest local government district in Northern Ireland, has first class facilities including the new civic centre at Lagan Valley Island, is home to the official residence of Her Majesty at Hillsborough House and the headquarters of the army at Thiepval Barracks, and above all comprises one of the most vibrant and progressive communities in the whole of the United Kingdom.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Jeffrey M Donaldson20/03/2002Lagan ValleyUUPProposed
Martin Smyth20/03/2002Belfast SouthUUPSigned
David Burnside20/03/2002South AntrimUUPSigned
Andrew MacKay21/03/2002BracknellConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn21/03/2002Newport WestLabourSigned
Andrew George21/03/2002St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Barnes21/03/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Ian Davidson25/03/2002Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton25/03/2002MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley25/03/2002Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Cummings25/03/2002EasingtonLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle25/03/2002ChorleyLabourSigned
Iris Robinson25/03/2002StrangfordDUPSigned
Andrew Rosindell26/03/2002RomfordConservativeSigned
Tony Colman03/04/2002PutneyLabourSigned
David Wilshire03/04/2002SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Nigel Jones10/04/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Roy Beggs10/04/2002East AntrimUUPSigned
Rudi Vis10/04/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/11/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.