Parliament Website

Rotherham Rfu Club

EDM number 1274 in 2001-02, proposed by Derek Wyatt on 09/05/2002.

That this House is dismayed at the decision by English Rugby Ltd not to allow Rotherham RFU Club, as winners of the first division, promotion to the Zurich Premiership; calls on the Secretaries of State for Trade and Industry and for Culture, Media and Sport to ask the Office of Fair Trading to investigate immediately, and to report by 31st May, the head leases and ownership clauses of the current members of the Zurich Premiership, whether English Rugby Ltd is a cartel and the reasons why Rotherham RFU has been denied its rightful place in the Zurich Premiership; and furthermore requests the Minister of Sport to review the public funding by Sport England of grants to rugby union clubs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Derek Wyatt09/05/2002Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourProposed
David Drew09/05/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Paul Farrelly09/05/2002Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas09/05/2002Harrow WestLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell13/05/2002Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Dennis Turner13/05/2002Wolverhampton South EastLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Borrow13/05/2002South RibbleLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard13/05/2002WalthamstowLabourSigned
Huw Edwards13/05/2002MonmouthLabourSigned
Ian Davidson13/05/2002Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Iain Luke13/05/2002Dundee EastLabourSigned
Kevan Jones13/05/2002North DurhamLabourSigned
George Howarth13/05/2002Knowsley North & Sefton EastLabourSigned
Doug Henderson13/05/2002Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice13/05/2002PendleLabourSigned
Colin Pickthall13/05/2002West LancashireLabourSigned
Martyn Jones14/05/2002Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Tony Baldry14/05/2002BanburyConservativeSigned
David Amess14/05/2002Southend WestConservativeSigned
Ian Gibson14/05/2002Norwich NorthLabourSigned
David Clelland14/05/2002Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
John Mann14/05/2002BassetlawLabourSigned
Chris Pond14/05/2002GraveshamLabourSigned
Bob Russell15/05/2002ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley16/05/2002Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Andy Burnham16/05/2002LeighLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham16/05/2002WorkingtonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis16/05/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Hywel Francis20/05/2002AberavonLabourSigned
Peter Kilfoyle21/05/2002Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/05/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara21/05/2002Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Alan Keen10/06/2002Feltham & HestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
David MilibandUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.