Parliament Website

Material For Deaf People And Copyright Law

EDM number 1387 in 2001-02, proposed by Simon Thomas on 24/05/2002.

That this House is concerned that copyright law and practices obstruct the provision of subtitles for Welsh songs and lyrics on teletext page 888 for S4C; notes that Welsh songs are an important feature of cultural festivals such as the Eisteddfod, and that it is unfair that deaf viewers are denied access to this vital part of Welsh cultural life; believes that this situation is contrary to the provisions of the Disability Discrimination Act 1995; notes that obtaining copyright holders' agreement to the wording of English subtitles for Welsh songs is a substantial barrier to providing subtitles; further notes that copyright holders can require extra payment to allow subtitling to take place; states that this is contrary to the spirit and intention of the Broadcasting Act 1990 which put subtitles on a legal footing in order to allow deaf viewers full access to television; and calls on the Government to exempt broadcasting material for deaf people from copyright laws.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

Simon Thomas24/05/2002CeredigionPlaid CymruProposed
Alex Salmond11/06/2002Banff & BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Elfyn Llwyd12/06/2002Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Annabelle Ewing12/06/2002PerthScottish National PartySigned
Julian Lewis13/06/2002New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Jon Owen Jones18/06/2002Cardiff CentralLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ann Clwyd18/06/2002Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Huw Edwards18/06/2002MonmouthLabourSigned
Pete Wishart19/06/2002North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
Kevin Brennan19/06/2002Cardiff WestLabourSigned
Chris Bryant20/06/2002RhonddaLabourSigned
Julie Morgan26/06/2002Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Adam Price26/06/2002Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Williams01/07/2002Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell02/07/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson04/07/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton11/07/2002GowerLabourSigned
Albert Owen18/07/2002Ynys MLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.