Parliament Website


EDM number 1488 in 2001-02, proposed by Brian Iddon on 20/06/2002.

That this House congratulates the Royal Society of Chemistry on holding its Parliamentary Links Day at the House on 25th June and on its continuing commitment to serve the public interest by seeking to improve the access of all honourable Members to scientific information and a better understanding of science; notes that Parliamentary Links Day is now an established and respected event on the annual parliamentary calendar and that it involves scientists and engineers from all over the Untied Kingdom; applauds the involvement in this event of many of the United Kingdom's greatest science and engineering organisations including the Institute of Physics, the Institute of Biology and its affiliated bodies, and many other organisations within the science and engineering community; notes further that the Royal Society of Chemistry's pioneering Parliamentary Link Scheme, which pairs scientists with the honourable Members in whose constituencies they live, and provides information and briefing on science, is open to Right honourable and honourable Members on all sides of the House; welcomes the expertise and assistance that the scientific community can give to Parliament; and welcomes the continuing contribution that Parliamentary Links Day makes to building and maintaining a dialogue between Parliament and the science and engineering community on scientific and technological issues.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Brian Iddon20/06/2002Bolton South EastLabourProposed
Bob Spink20/06/2002Castle PointConservativeSigned
Stephen Ladyman20/06/2002South ThanetLabourSigned
Andrew Murrison20/06/2002WestburyConservativeSigned
Michael Clapham20/06/2002Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Tam Dalyell20/06/2002LinlithgowLabourSigned
Ian Gibson20/06/2002Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Beard20/06/2002Bexleyheath & CrayfordLabourSigned
Desmond Turner20/06/2002Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Paul Marsden26/06/2002Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Doug Naysmith26/06/2002Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Lynne Jones27/06/2002Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Win Griffiths27/06/2002BridgendLabourSigned
Rob Marris27/06/2002Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/06/2002Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Martin Smyth27/06/2002Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Andrew Dismore01/07/2002HendonLabourSigned
David Drew01/07/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Betty Williams01/07/2002ConwyLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton01/07/2002MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Ann Cryer02/07/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson04/07/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John McFall04/07/2002DumbartonLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Crausby04/07/2002Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Barrett04/07/2002Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis08/07/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Bill Etherington09/07/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.