Parliament Website

Brendan Fearon

EDM number 1619 in 2001-02, proposed by Henry Bellingham on 11/07/2002.

That this House expresses its grave concern that Brendan Fearon, one of the burglars that broke into Tony Martin's house, is now suing for civil damages in respect of the injuries that he suffered from his criminal acts; expresses further concern that Brendan Fearon is now receiving legal aid, even though his solicitors have agreed to take the case on a contingency, no win/no fee basis; urges the Government to look urgently at changing the law so that a new legal principle is brought in, whereby criminals who break into properties leave all their civil rights outside the property in question; and urges the Government to change the legal aid rules so that no one can claim it in cases where their solicitors have already agreed to take the case on a contingency basis.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Henry Bellingham11/07/2002North West NorfolkConservativeProposed
Nicholas Winterton11/07/2002MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton11/07/2002CongletonConservativeSigned
Bill Wiggin11/07/2002LeominsterConservativeSigned
Ann Widdecombe11/07/2002Maidstone & The WealdConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson11/07/2002UpminsterConservativeSigned
Hugo Swire11/07/2002East DevonConservativeSigned
Richard Bacon11/07/2002South NorfolkConservativeSigned
Michael Fabricant11/07/2002LichfieldConservativeSigned
Malcolm Moss11/07/2002North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Boris Johnson11/07/2002HenleyConservativeSigned
Andrew Rosindell11/07/2002RomfordConservativeSigned
Jonathan Sayeed11/07/2002Mid BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Andrew Selous11/07/2002South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Gillian Shephard11/07/2002South West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Mark Simmonds11/07/2002Boston & SkegnessConservativeSigned
Keith Simpson11/07/2002Mid NorfolkConservativeSigned
Gerald Howarth11/07/2002AldershotConservativeSigned
Laurence Robertson12/07/2002TewkesburyConservativeSigned
Andrew MacKay12/07/2002BracknellConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley12/07/2002Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Wilshire15/07/2002SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Nigel Waterson15/07/2002EastbourneConservativeSigned
Chris Grayling15/07/2002Epsom & EwellConservativeSigned
Ann Cryer15/07/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Julian Lewis15/07/2002New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Kate Hoey15/07/2002VauxhallLabourSigned
Tim Loughton16/07/2002East Worthing & ShorehamConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell16/07/2002East LondonderryDUPSigned
Adrian Bailey16/07/2002West Bromwich WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Rudi Vis17/07/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
George Osborne23/07/2002TattonConservativeSigned
Patsy Calton24/09/2002CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.