Parliament Website

Heart Failure

EDM number 1645 in 2001-02, proposed by Ian Gibson on 17/07/2002.

That this House believes that improvements in the organisation of NHS services are critical for successfully tackling heart failure, which affects around one million patients and costs the NHS about ú1 billion a year; notes that United Kingdom heart failure patients currently have amongst the worst prognosis and survival rates in Europe; further notes that although the National Service Framework on coronary heart disease includes guidelines on managing and treating heart failure, in many areas these are not implemented consistently throughout the country; and calls on the Government to ensure that the same priorities and resources are given to heart failure as coronary heart disease and cancer.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Ian Gibson17/07/2002Norwich NorthLabourProposed
Greg Pope18/07/2002HyndburnLabourSigned
Bob Russell18/07/2002ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Smyth18/07/2002Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/07/2002Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ashok Kumar18/07/2002Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn18/07/2002Islington NorthLabourSigned
Terry Davis18/07/2002Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Win Griffiths18/07/2002BridgendLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley18/07/2002Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jenny Tonge18/07/2002Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Kevin McNamara19/07/2002Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Richard Burden19/07/2002Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Lynne Jones19/07/2002Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Brian Iddon19/07/2002Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Iris Robinson22/07/2002StrangfordDUPSigned
Alan Simpson22/07/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable22/07/2002TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen22/07/2002Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin22/07/2002Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Austin22/07/2002Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins23/07/2002TamworthLabourSigned
Betty Williams23/07/2002ConwyLabourSigned
Harold Best23/07/2002Leeds North WestLabourSigned
David Drew23/07/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ann Cryer23/07/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Paul Marsden23/07/2002Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Lyons23/07/2002Strathkelvin & BearsdenLabourSigned
Terry Lewis23/07/2002WorsleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale23/07/2002MansfieldLabourSigned
Ian Davidson24/07/2002Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Bill Tynan24/07/2002Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
Jon Trickett24/07/2002HemsworthLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis24/07/2002Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Janet Dean24/07/2002BurtonLabourSigned
Michael Clapham24/07/2002Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd24/07/2002Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Nigel Jones24/07/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Evan Harris24/07/2002Oxford West & AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington24/09/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Bob Spink23/10/2002Castle PointConservativeSigned
Tony Clarke05/11/2002Northampton SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell07/11/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.