Parliament Website

Conduct Of Mr Justice Henriques

EDM number 593 in 2001-02, proposed by Gerald Kaufman on 17/12/2001.

That this House censures Mr Justice Henriques for imposing a token sentence on the convicted violent criminal Jonathan Woodgate, when his companion in the dock, Lee Bowyer, in 1996 was fined ú4,000 for affray in an incident when, significantly, he assaulted Asian staff; and is incredulous that Mr Justice Henriques should have let off Woodgate with this minimal sentence on the grounds that he had 'suffered agonies', when the so-called agonies suffered by Woodgate, which he brought upon himself, pale into insignificance compared with the genuine physical agonies and mental trauma suffered by Woodgate's victim, Safraz Najeib.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Gerald Kaufman17/12/2001Manchester, GortonLabourProposed
Gerry Steinberg18/12/2001Durham, City ofLabourSigned
Nigel Beard18/12/2001Bexleyheath & CrayfordLabourSigned
Harry Barnes18/12/2001North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
David Drew18/12/2001StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Terry Davis18/12/2001Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara18/12/2001Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Bob Russell18/12/2001ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Wyatt19/12/2001Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/12/2001Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham19/12/2001Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Alan Keen19/12/2001Feltham & HestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Eric Illsley19/12/2001Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/12/2001Luton NorthLabourSigned
Syd Rapson19/12/2001Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis08/01/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/01/2002Birmingham, Sparkbrook & Small HeathLabourSigned
Tom Cox08/01/2002TootingLabourSigned
Tony Colman08/01/2002PutneyLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd08/01/2002Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Taylor09/01/2002North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Mike Hancock09/01/2002Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths09/01/2002BridgendLabourSigned
Jane Griffiths09/01/2002Reading EastLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner09/01/2002Brent NorthLabourSigned
Ian Davidson09/01/2002Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Marshall09/01/2002Glasgow, ShettlestonLabourSigned
Paul Holmes09/01/2002ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Sedgemore09/01/2002Hackney South & ShoreditchLabourSigned
Paul Keetch10/01/2002HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
John McWilliam10/01/2002BlaydonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer14/01/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Martyn Jones15/01/2002Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin17/01/2002Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Diane Abbott17/01/2002Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
David Crausby23/01/2002Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Bill Etherington31/01/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.