Parliament Website

Child Abuse Commission

EDM number 983 in 2001-02, proposed by Jimmy Wray on 12/03/2002.

That this House calls on the Government to recognise the effects of child abuse at the De La Salle schools and fund an independent English and Scottish Commission into child abuse to identify and rule on cases past and present and to help steer policy and law governing children in care and victims of abuse; calls for the Commission to consist of professionals and abuse survivors, and be able to hear or investigate abuse claims similar to a tribunal and to have powers to recommend criminal investigation and charges; urges the Government to fund a Scottish and English Survivors' Centre to provide a much needed meeting place, as well as staff and funding for psychological assessment, support and treatment for abuse victims and their families; and hopes that from this terrible tragedy there will be a lasting legacy which ensures that no children in the future will be left without a voice, and that those who suffered in the past have a fighting chance of reclaiming their lives once more.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Jimmy Wray12/03/2002Glasgow, BailliestonLabourProposed
Alan Simpson13/03/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Tom Cox13/03/2002TootingLabourSigned
Alice Mahon14/03/2002HalifaxLabourSigned
Michael Clapham14/03/2002Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Syd Rapson15/03/2002Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
John Robertson18/03/2002Glasgow, AnnieslandLabourSigned
Martin Smyth18/03/2002Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Ashok Kumar18/03/2002Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Ann Cryer18/03/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing18/03/2002Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Roy Beggs19/03/2002East AntrimUUPSigned
Harry Barnes19/03/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
John McWilliam19/03/2002BlaydonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty20/03/2002Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/03/2002Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Huw Edwards20/03/2002MonmouthLabourSigned
Harold Best20/03/2002Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis20/03/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Bill Etherington21/03/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones25/03/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham25/03/2002Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Russell Brown17/04/2002DumfriesLabourSigned
John Austin23/04/2002Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Tony Clarke08/05/2002Northampton SouthLabourSigned
John Lyons15/10/2002Strathkelvin & BearsdenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.