Parliament Website

Potters Bar Rail Crash And Corporate Manslaughter

EDM number 1155 in 2002-03, proposed by Andrew Dismore on 07/05/2003.

That this House notes that 10th May will be the first anniversary of the Potters Bar train crash; supports the call of the bereaved and the injured for a public inquiry into the causes of the crash, backed by the local newspapers, the Times Group and the Barnet Press; expresses concern at the difficulties facing those bringing compensation claims, owing to a lack of funding for legal costs; believes that this type of accident will only be prevented in the future when senior company directors take their responsibilities towards safety as seriously as their duty to make profits for their shareholders; and calls upon Her Majesty's Government to institute a public inquiry, provide legal aid funding and introduce a new offence of corporate killing without further delay.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs.

Andrew Dismore07/05/2003HendonLabourProposed
Tony Lloyd07/05/2003Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Drew08/05/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jenny Tonge08/05/2003Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Barnes08/05/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Win Griffiths08/05/2003BridgendLabourSigned
Paul Flynn08/05/2003Newport WestLabourSigned
Huw Edwards08/05/2003MonmouthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer08/05/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn08/05/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable08/05/2003TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale08/05/2003MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell08/05/2003Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones08/05/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Alan Simpson08/05/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Betty Williams12/05/2003ConwyLabourSigned
Simon Thomas12/05/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Richard Burden12/05/2003Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara12/05/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Bob Russell12/05/2003ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Syd Rapson12/05/2003Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Linda Perham12/05/2003Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Kerry Pollard12/05/2003St AlbansLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd12/05/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Lady Hermon13/05/2003North DownUUPSigned
Terry Lewis13/05/2003WorsleyLabourSigned
Albert Owen13/05/2003Ynys MLabourSigned
Patsy Calton13/05/2003CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton13/05/2003GowerLabourSigned
Mike Gapes13/05/2003Ilford SouthLabour Co-operativeSigned
Gerry Steinberg13/05/2003Durham, City ofLabourSigned
Ian Gibson14/05/2003Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock14/05/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham15/05/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/05/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Lyons20/05/2003Strathkelvin & BearsdenLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty20/05/2003Calder ValleyLabourSigned
John Cryer20/05/2003HornchurchLabourSigned
David Borrow20/05/2003South RibbleLabourSigned
Rudi Vis20/05/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/05/2003Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley22/05/2003Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Nigel Jones22/05/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard22/05/2003WalthamstowLabourSigned
Tom Cox03/06/2003TootingLabourSigned
Harold Best03/06/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
David Hamilton09/06/2003MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.