Parliament Website

Report Of The Expert Group On Vitamins And Minerals

EDM number 1163 in 2002-03, proposed by David Tredinnick on 08/05/2003.

That this House notes the publication by the Food Standards Agency of the Report of the Expert Group on Vitamins and minerals; supports the principles established by the Group that the safety of nutrients should be considered on a case by case basis and that all relevant scientific evidence should be taken into account in assessing their safety; regrets that in relation to a number of nutrients the Report interprets the existing data in an inappropriate or overly-cautious manner which, if adopted as the basis for regulatory action, would lead to the banning of some nutrients, including chromium picolinate and vanadium, and the imposition of unnecessarily low maximum permitted levels for other nutrients including vitamin B6 and vitamin C; urges the Government and the Board of the Food Standards Agency to pause before making any decisions on the basis of this Report and to submit it instead for further comment, particularly by other reputable international scientific bodies which have reached different conclusions on nutrient safety; and further urges the Government to redouble its efforts to persuade other member states of the European Union to accept that safety should be the principle upon which regulation is based and to defend the principle that consumers should continue to have access to safe dietary supplements of their choice.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

David Tredinnick08/05/2003BosworthConservativeProposed
Julie Kirkbride08/05/2003BromsgroveConservativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton08/05/2003MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Gerry Steinberg08/05/2003Durham, City ofLabourSigned
John Austin08/05/2003Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Diane Abbott08/05/2003Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Andrew MacKinlay08/05/2003ThurrockLabourSigned
Martin Smyth12/05/2003Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd12/05/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Vincent Cable12/05/2003TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/05/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer12/05/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Adrian Flook12/05/2003TauntonConservativeSigned
Simon Thomas12/05/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Ashok Kumar13/05/2003Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara13/05/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Patsy Calton13/05/2003CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir13/05/2003AngusScottish National PartySigned
Ann Winterton13/05/2003CongletonConservativeSigned
Andrew George14/05/2003St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy King14/05/2003Rugby & KenilworthLabourSigned
Valerie Davey14/05/2003Bristol WestLabourSigned
John Randall15/05/2003UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Bob Spink15/05/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
Win Griffiths15/05/2003BridgendLabourSigned
Tony Banks15/05/2003West HamLabourSigned
Paul Tyler15/05/2003North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Williams15/05/2003Swansea WestLabourSigned
Betty Williams19/05/2003ConwyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell19/05/2003Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew19/05/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alan Simpson19/05/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty20/05/2003Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/05/2003Luton NorthLabourSigned
Brian Iddon21/05/2003Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lady Hermon22/05/2003North DownUUPSigned
Nigel Jones22/05/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Harold Best03/06/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Alex Salmond09/06/2003Banff & BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Brian White10/06/2003North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Kate Hoey17/06/2003VauxhallLabourSigned
Huw Edwards18/06/2003MonmouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.