Parliament Website

Iraq And The 1954 Hague Convention On Cultural Property

EDM number 1245 in 2002-03, proposed by Simon Thomas on 19/05/2003.

That this House notes the huge destruction wrought on Iraq's cultural heritage in the aftermath of war; urges the Government to do all it can to clamp down on trade in looted and stolen historic artefacts; notes that the 1954 Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the event of armed conflict has yet to be ratified by the UK Government; believes it would be appropriate to ratify the convention before its 50th anniversary; and calls on the Government to allocate parliamentary time to call on all parties to assist in ratifying the convention.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Simon Thomas19/05/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruProposed
Adam Price20/05/2003Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Lynne Jones20/05/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Terry Lewis20/05/2003WorsleyLabourSigned
Alice Mahon20/05/2003HalifaxLabourSigned
Paul Marsden20/05/2003Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable20/05/2003TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/05/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George20/05/2003St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing20/05/2003Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz21/05/2003Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
Harry Barnes21/05/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Tony Banks21/05/2003West HamLabourSigned
Paul Flynn21/05/2003Newport WestLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell21/05/2003Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Colin Breed21/05/2003South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/05/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Bob Russell21/05/2003ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew22/05/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Paul Tyler22/05/2003North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Jenny Tonge22/05/2003Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell22/05/2003Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore22/05/2003HendonLabourSigned
Norman Lamb22/05/2003North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard22/05/2003WalthamstowLabourSigned
Angus Robertson03/06/2003MorayScottish National PartySigned
Harry Cohen03/06/2003Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Tom Cox03/06/2003TootingLabourSigned
Betty Williams03/06/2003ConwyLabourSigned
Pete Wishart03/06/2003North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham04/06/2003Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara05/06/2003Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington05/06/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Terry Davis05/06/2003Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing09/06/2003PerthScottish National PartySigned
John Barrett09/06/2003Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Cotter10/06/2003Weston-Super-MareLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Campbell13/06/2003CambridgeLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar16/06/2003Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
Rob Marris17/06/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Nigel Jones23/06/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.