Parliament Website

Monopoly Of Bskyb

EDM number 1711 in 2002-03, proposed by Eric Martlew on 17/09/2003.

That this House condemns the recent decision by BSkyB to increase its subscription rates to pubs and clubs by a staggering 18 per cent. which will have a serious impact on those which screen live sport, particularly Premiership football; notes that the sports viewing market is a vital element for the viability of many businesses, attracting a distinct target audience which would not be attracted to pubs by other entertainment; condemns the increase which is about seven times the current rate of inflation and is a total abuse of BSkyB's monopoly position; welcomes the intention of the Office of Fair Trading to assess the situation to establish whether there is an infringement of the Competition Act 1998.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Eric Martlew17/09/2003CarlisleLabourProposed
Ken Purchase17/09/2003Wolverhampton North EastLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Phil Sawford17/09/2003KetteringLabourSigned
Hilton Dawson17/09/2003Lancaster & WyreLabourSigned
David Taylor17/09/2003North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Dennis Turner17/09/2003Wolverhampton South EastLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Chaytor18/09/2003Bury NorthLabourSigned
Paul Tyler18/09/2003North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Jenny Tonge18/09/2003Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew18/09/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jim Dobbin18/09/2003Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Vincent Cable18/09/2003TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen18/09/2003Ynys MLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner18/09/2003BolsoverLabourSigned
Rudi Vis14/10/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Harold Best14/10/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
John Grogan14/10/2003SelbyLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis14/10/2003Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith14/10/2003Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Kevin McNamara14/10/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones14/10/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Paul Holmes14/10/2003ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton14/10/2003GowerLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara15/10/2003Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/10/2003Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore15/10/2003HendonLabourSigned
David Hamilton15/10/2003MidlothianLabourSigned
Mike Hancock15/10/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Thomas16/10/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Harry Barnes16/10/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Colin Breed16/10/2003South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley16/10/2003Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Paul Keetch20/10/2003HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean20/10/2003BurtonLabourSigned
Betty Williams20/10/2003ConwyLabourSigned
Rob Marris21/10/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
David Crausby22/10/2003Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Russell Brown29/10/2003DumfriesLabourSigned
Bill Etherington30/10/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/11/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones03/11/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett03/11/2003Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh10/11/2003Bradford WestLabourSigned
Matthew Green19/11/2003LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.