Parliament Website

Statutory Football Commission

EDM number 1739 in 2002-03, proposed by Tony Banks on 14/10/2003.

That this House believes that no FA, Premier or Nationwide League club, whether publicly or privately owned, should have its ownership transferred until the proposed new owners have fully complied with bona fide tests in respect of personal and financial background, resource availability and future plans for club development; further believes that a football commission should be established with statutory powers to oversee any takeover, intervening where necessary and with its membership drawn from Government, the football authorities, the Professional Footballers Association and supporters; proposes that the Football Commission should have power to require any proposed owners to lodge surety bonds and that the Commission's funding should be by way of levy on broadcasting and merchandising rights; and calls upon Her Majesty's Government to introduce the necessary primary legislation as soon as possible.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Tony Banks14/10/2003West HamLabourProposed
Ronnie Campbell15/10/2003Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Tony Colman15/10/2003PutneyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer15/10/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock15/10/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Taylor15/10/2003North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Dennis Skinner16/10/2003BolsoverLabourSigned
David Drew16/10/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Huw Edwards16/10/2003MonmouthLabourSigned
Bob Russell20/10/2003ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/10/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean20/10/2003BurtonLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt20/10/2003Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Adam Price21/10/2003Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Rob Marris21/10/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Syd Rapson21/10/2003Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd22/10/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Clarke22/10/2003Northampton SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby22/10/2003Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Colin Burgon27/10/2003ElmetLabourSigned
Rudi Vis27/10/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd30/10/2003Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/11/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones03/11/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Salter10/11/2003Reading WestLabourSigned
Nick Harvey19/11/2003North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.