Parliament Website

Winter Fuel Allowance

EDM number 209 in 2002-03, proposed by Paul Holmes on 27/11/2002.

That this House notes with concern that, although pensioners over the age of 60 years can claim a winter fuel payment of ú200 a year, there are one million severely disabled people of working age who are not eligible for the payment, many of whom feel the cold intensely and cannot afford to heat their homes adequately; notes also that the vast majority of those who would benefit are not in work, where their heating would be provided during working hours, and that heating is essential for the therapy required by any disabling ailments, just as many produce an added need for hot water; and calls on the Government to extend the winter fuel payment to disabled people who receive the middle or the higher rate of the disability living allowance care component or the higher rate of the mobility component.

This motion has been signed by a total of 63 MPs.

Paul Holmes27/11/2002ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratProposed
Patsy Calton27/11/2002CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross27/11/2002TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis27/11/2002Harrogate & KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Tyler27/11/2002North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Jenny Tonge27/11/2002Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett27/11/2002Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock27/11/2002Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Matthew Green27/11/2002LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned
Sue Doughty27/11/2002GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey27/11/2002Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Chidgey27/11/2002EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael27/11/2002Orkney & ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Burstow27/11/2002Sutton & CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heath27/11/2002Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh27/11/2002SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Reid27/11/2002Argyll & ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Rendel27/11/2002NewburyLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell27/11/2002ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders27/11/2002TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke27/11/2002Mid Dorset & North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Keetch27/11/2002HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Archy Kirkwood27/11/2002Roxburgh & BerwickshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Lamb27/11/2002North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
David Laws27/11/2002YeovilLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Moore27/11/2002Tweeddale, Ettrick & LauderdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed27/11/2002South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams28/11/2002Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley28/11/2002RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George28/11/2002St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable28/11/2002TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Smyth28/11/2002Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Robert Smith28/11/2002West Aberdeenshire & KincardineLiberal DemocratSigned
Syd Rapson28/11/2002Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce28/11/2002GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Marsden03/12/2002Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Oaten03/12/2002WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Lembit 03/12/2002MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Cotter03/12/2002Weston-Super-MareLiberal DemocratSigned
Annabelle Ewing03/12/2002PerthScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell04/12/2002Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds04/12/2002Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Lady Hermon05/12/2002North DownUUPSigned
Tom Brake05/12/2002Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis09/12/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Martin O'Neill09/12/2002OchilLabourSigned
Andy King09/12/2002Rugby & KenilworthLabourSigned
Jim Knight09/12/2002South DorsetLabourSigned
Simon Thomas10/12/2002CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Weir10/12/2002AngusScottish National PartySigned
David Burnside11/12/2002South AntrimUUPSigned
Michael Connarty11/12/2002Falkirk EastLabourSigned
Anne Begg12/12/2002Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara16/12/2002Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Frank Cook16/12/2002Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Adam Price16/12/2002Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams17/12/2002CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Bill Tynan18/12/2002Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey19/12/2002North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones13/01/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus Robertson03/03/2003MorayScottish National PartySigned
Andrew Stunell12/03/2003Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell18/06/2003East LondonderryDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.