Parliament Website

Turkey And The Copenhagen Summit

EDM number 249 in 2002-03, proposed by Tony Baldry on 02/12/2002.

That this House welcomes the Prime Minister's continued support ahead of the Copenhagen Summit of Turkey's application to join the EU and looks to the Prime Minister to give unequivocal support for there being a firm date for negotiations to begin the process of Turkey's accession to the EU; notes that Turkey's implementation of the Accession Partnership and its National Programme for the Adoption of the Acquis means the country now fulfils the Copenhagen Criteria, including freedom of expression, the fight against torture, prison reform and the right to broadcasting; commends Turkey on its constitutional amendments of October 2001 restricting the death penalty to cases of war and terrorist crimes in compliance with Protocol No. 6 of the ECHR and the country's approval of 34 other constitutional articles relating to human rights; expresses concern that the European Commission's 2002 Regular Report on Turkey's Progress Toward Accession failed fully to recognise these positive developments in Turkey's application; and calls on the Government to add impetus to the Copenhagen Summit by ensuring that Turkey receives equal treatment from the EU to that accorded to all applicant states.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Tony Baldry02/12/2002BanburyConservativeProposed
Andrew Dismore02/12/2002HendonLabourSeconded
Nicholas Winterton02/12/2002MacclesfieldConservativeSeconded
John McWilliam02/12/2002BlaydonLabourSeconded
Robert Walter02/12/2002North DorsetConservativeSeconded
Andrew Hunter02/12/2002BasingstokeIndependent ConservativeSeconded
Andy King03/12/2002Rugby & KenilworthLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley03/12/2002York, City ofLabourSigned
Ann Winterton04/12/2002CongletonConservativeSigned
Janet Dean04/12/2002BurtonLabourSigned
Vincent Cable04/12/2002TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mann05/12/2002BassetlawLabourSigned
Terry Davis05/12/2002Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin05/12/2002Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Marsha Singh10/12/2002Bradford WestLabourSigned
Richard Burden10/12/2002Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Tony Colman10/12/2002PutneyLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara11/12/2002Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Frank Cook16/12/2002Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Martin O'Neill19/12/2002OchilLabourSigned
Nigel Jones13/01/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.