Parliament Website

Health Cash Plan Providers And The Inland Revenue

EDM number 725 in 2002-03, proposed by Tony Clarke on 12/02/2003.

That this House notes that not-for-profit health cash plan providers started from 19th century working class traditions of charity and mutual support and funded local hospitals; further notes that since 1948 they have supported NHS patients by providing benefits for loss of earnings during stays in hospital, assistance with relatives, travel costs and charges for dental and optical treatment, on the birth of babies, and for injuries, and that trading surpluses are donated to the NHS or medical charities; and appreciates that the Inland Revenue has historically treated those trading surpluses as exempt from taxation; notes with concern that the Inland Revenue now proposes to tax such organisations, leading to a reduction in donations to the NHS and medical charities; further observes that such organisations have typically protected themselves against break up and asset stripping through rules that require that, on winding up, any assets go to other organisations with similar purpose; believes that changing this practice would remove important protections and that giving every contributor a right to attend meetings and vote would impose unnecessary and costly administrative burdens; believes, therefore, that the Inland Revenue's suggestion that such change is a prerequisite for tax exemption is inappropriate, would undermine the valuable work of such funds, reduce donations to the NHS and undermine Government policy to support self-help and charitable giving, whilst leading to increased rates for contributions; and urges the Chancellor of the Exchequer urgently to intervene.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs.

Tony Clarke12/02/2003Northampton SouthLabourProposed
Martin Salter12/02/2003Reading WestLabourSigned
Mark Tami12/02/2003Alyn & DeesideLabourSigned
David Drew12/02/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Stephen McCabe12/02/2003Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn12/02/2003JarrowLabourSigned
Phil Sawford12/02/2003KetteringLabourSigned
Peter Kilfoyle12/02/2003Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz13/02/2003Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
Vincent Cable13/02/2003TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore13/02/2003HendonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin13/02/2003Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Huw Edwards13/02/2003MonmouthLabourSigned
Win Griffiths13/02/2003BridgendLabourSigned
Harry Barnes13/02/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Brian Iddon24/02/2003Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Betty Williams24/02/2003ConwyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis24/02/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley24/02/2003Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Julia Drown24/02/2003South SwindonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer24/02/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton24/02/2003GowerLabourSigned
Patsy Calton24/02/2003CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Burnham24/02/2003LeighLabourSigned
Alan Keen24/02/2003Feltham & HestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Andrew Selous24/02/2003South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson24/02/2003StrangfordDUPSigned
Robert Wareing25/02/2003Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Paul Stinchcombe25/02/2003WellingboroughLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd25/02/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Meale25/02/2003MansfieldLabourSigned
Piara S Khabra25/02/2003Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Robertson26/02/2003Glasgow, AnnieslandLabourSigned
David Heyes26/02/2003Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden26/02/2003Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Jim Cousins26/02/2003Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Roy Beggs26/02/2003East AntrimUUPSigned
Roger Williams26/02/2003Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Sheerman27/02/2003HuddersfieldLabour Co-operativeSigned
Bob Spink27/02/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
Joan Humble27/02/2003Blackpool North & FleetwoodLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell27/02/2003East LondonderryDUPSigned
Tony Cunningham27/02/2003WorkingtonLabourSigned
Mike Wood27/02/2003Batley & SpenLabourSigned
Harold Best28/02/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Janet Dean28/02/2003BurtonLabourSigned
Marsha Singh28/02/2003Bradford WestLabourSigned
Ann Widdecombe03/03/2003Maidstone & The WealdConservativeSigned
Tony Lloyd04/03/2003Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey04/03/2003West Bromwich WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Barrett04/03/2003Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Pope06/03/2003HyndburnLabourSigned
Rob Marris06/03/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington12/03/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell12/03/2003Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Doug Naysmith13/03/2003Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Lepper19/03/2003Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alan Simpson20/03/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones02/04/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Battle03/04/2003Leeds WestLabourSigned
Simon Thomas28/04/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.