Parliament Website

Situation In Zimbabwe(2)

EDM number 1258 in 2003-04, proposed by Michael Ancram on 24/05/2004.

That this House notes the deteriorating situation in Zimbabwe and the growing contempt for democracy, human rights and the rule of law being demonstrated by Robert Mugabe and his Zanu-PF regime; is appalled by continuing political cleansing of black farm workers, by continuing political oppression, political beatings and murders, and by continuing policies of selective starvation of political opponents; is further appalled by press censorship, by increasing disregard for the rights of property, and by attempts further to undermine democracy by rigging the voter's register in advance of coming parliamentary elections; is frustrated by the failure both of the policy of quiet diplomacy and of pleas to internationalise the crisis; is dismayed by the racist politicisation of the Zimbabwe cricket team; believes that the Patron of the Zimbabwe Cricket Union, Robert Mugabe, has forfeited any right to respect; further believes that for the England cricket team to tour Zimbabwe this October would be publicly to disregard the immoral, tyrannical and unacceptable oppression of the people of Zimbabwe by Robert Mugabe and would be an insult to them; further believes that in such circumstances morality has a greater call on human values than professionalism or money; and noting that the Movement for Democratic Change is in agreement, believes that the England and Wales Cricket Board should cancel the tour, failing which the England players should refuse to take part in the tour; and asks them all to act accordingly.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

Michael Ancram24/05/2004DevizesConservativeProposed
Gary Streeter24/05/2004South West DevonConservativeSigned
Gregory Barker24/05/2004Bexhill & BattleConservativeSigned
Peter Atkinson24/05/2004HexhamConservativeSigned
Mark Francois24/05/2004RayleighConservativeSigned
Geoffrey Clifton-Brown24/05/2004CotswoldConservativeSigned
David Maclean24/05/2004Penrith & The BorderConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis24/05/2004New Forest EastConservativeSigned
John Randall24/05/2004UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Hugh Robertson24/05/2004Faversham & Mid KentConservativeSigned
Andrew Selous24/05/2004South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Bob Spink24/05/2004Castle PointConservativeSigned
Richard Spring24/05/2004West SuffolkConservativeSigned
Peter Luff24/05/2004Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Martin Smyth25/05/2004Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Robert Key25/05/2004SalisburyConservativeSigned
Andrew MacKay25/05/2004BracknellConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell25/05/2004East LondonderryDUPSigned
John Bercow25/05/2004BuckinghamConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley25/05/2004Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis25/05/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Wilshire25/05/2004SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds26/05/2004Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Peter Duncan26/05/2004Galloway & Upper NithsdaleConservativeSigned
Edward Garnier26/05/2004HarboroughConservativeSigned
Roy Beggs26/05/2004East AntrimUUPSigned
Rob Marris27/05/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Colin Breed27/05/2004South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Sayeed07/06/2004Mid BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Howard Flight07/06/2004Arundel & South DownsConservativeSigned
Peter Ainsworth07/06/2004East SurreyConservativeSigned
David Amess07/06/2004Southend WestConservativeSigned
Caroline Spelman08/06/2004MeridenConservativeSigned
Theresa May08/06/2004MaidenheadConservativeSigned
Cheryl Gillan08/06/2004Chesham & AmershamConservativeSigned
Michael Fabricant09/06/2004LichfieldConservativeSigned
Julian Brazier14/06/2004CanterburyConservativeSigned
James Gray14/06/2004North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson15/06/2004UpminsterConservativeSigned
Patrick Mercer15/06/2004NewarkConservativeSigned
Ian Taylor17/06/2004Esher & WaltonConservativeSigned
Hugo Swire21/06/2004East DevonConservativeSigned
Andrew Hunter22/06/2004BasingstokeIndependent ConservativeSigned
Malcolm Moss24/06/2004North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Chris Grayling24/06/2004Epsom & EwellConservativeSigned
Philip Hammond24/06/2004Runnymede & WeybridgeConservativeSigned
Bill Wiggin24/06/2004LeominsterConservativeSigned
Oliver Heald29/06/2004North East HertfordshireConservativeSigned
Anne McIntosh01/07/2004Vale of YorkConservativeSigned
Boris Johnson06/07/2004HenleyConservativeSigned
Andrew Rosindell07/09/2004RomfordConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans01/11/2004Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.