Parliament Website

The Power Academy

EDM number 1311 in 2003-04, proposed by Bill Olner on 07/06/2004.

That this House congratulates the IEE, the UK's electricity networking companies and the universities of Strathclyde, Southampton and Manchester Institute of Science and Technology for joining forces to create The Power Academy; notes with concern that a significant number of the industry's most experienced and senior engineers, who keep the country's electricity networks running, will retire within the next five to 10 years, creating a potentially serious skills deficit; wishes to support The Power Academy which, in its first year, will recruit around 40 undergraduates, rising up to 60 students in a year's time, who will be sponsored throughout their course by the Academy, including the payment of tuition fees, a ú2000 bursary, ú250 to spend on course materials, an IEE membership and a summer school in core business and management skills designed to enhance students' career prospects; and thanks all those involved in this initiative for taking positive steps to encourage young people to study engineering.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Bill Olner07/06/2004NuneatonLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins07/06/2004Luton NorthLabourSigned
Phil Willis07/06/2004Harrogate & KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Whitehead07/06/2004Southampton, TestLabourSigned
David Crausby07/06/2004Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Richard Page07/06/2004South West HertfordshireConservativeSigned
Tony Lloyd07/06/2004Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Brian Cotter07/06/2004Weston-Super-MareLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones08/06/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Robert Key08/06/2004SalisburyConservativeSigned
Martin Caton08/06/2004GowerLabourSigned
Ann Cryer08/06/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Ann Winterton08/06/2004CongletonConservativeSigned
Brian Iddon09/06/2004Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Rudi Vis09/06/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Desmond Turner09/06/2004Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Roy Beggs09/06/2004East AntrimUUPSigned
Colin Breed09/06/2004South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale09/06/2004MansfieldLabourSigned
Tony McWalter09/06/2004Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned
Eric Illsley09/06/2004Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Lady Hermon10/06/2004North DownUUPSigned
Betty Williams14/06/2004ConwyLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle14/06/2004ChorleyLabourSigned
Syd Rapson15/06/2004Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Simon Hughes15/06/2004North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Dennis Turner15/06/2004Wolverhampton South EastLabour Co-operativeSigned
Nigel Jones16/06/2004CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Khalid Mahmood16/06/2004Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned
Andrew George16/06/2004St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin17/06/2004Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jeff Ennis17/06/2004Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins18/06/2004TamworthLabourSigned
Judy Mallaber21/06/2004Amber ValleyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell21/06/2004Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
David Clelland22/06/2004Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Greg Pope24/06/2004HyndburnLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/06/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Alex Salmond28/06/2004Banff & BuchanScottish National PartySigned
John Barrett06/07/2004Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Annabelle Ewing14/07/2004PerthScottish National PartySigned
Janet Dean22/07/2004BurtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.