Parliament Website


EDM number 629 in 2003-04, proposed by Llew Smith on 12/02/2004.

That this House welcomes President Bush's statement at the United States National Defense University in Washington DC on 11th February that 'Enrichment and reprocessing are not necessary for nations seeking to harness nuclear energy for peaceful purposes'; recalls the statement by Lord Davies of Oldham in the debate on the Energy Bill, Official Report, 22nd January, column GC415, that 'We consider a great deal of the activity of the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority, particularly at Thorp Reprocessing Plant and Sellafield MOX Plant, to be loss-making'; believes that we are at an historic moment, appropriate for nuclear reprocessing at Sellafield to be halted; and calls upon the Prime Minister to support President Bush in his appeal to end reprocessing.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Llew Smith12/02/2004Blaenau GwentLabourProposed
Paul Flynn12/02/2004Newport WestLabourSigned
Adam Price23/02/2004Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Kevin McNamara23/02/2004Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis23/02/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Martin Smyth24/02/2004Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Lynne Jones24/02/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Rob Marris24/02/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton24/02/2004GowerLabourSigned
Harold Best24/02/2004Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Simon Thomas24/02/2004CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Desmond Turner24/02/2004Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn25/02/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Austin25/02/2004Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell25/02/2004East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alan Meale25/02/2004MansfieldLabourSigned
Alice Mahon26/02/2004HalifaxLabourSigned
David Chaytor26/02/2004Bury NorthLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing26/02/2004PerthScottish National PartySigned
David Hamilton26/02/2004MidlothianLabourSigned
Bill Etherington01/03/2004Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard01/03/2004WalthamstowLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell02/03/2004Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus Robertson04/03/2004MorayScottish National PartySigned
Alan Simpson04/03/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Janet Dean18/03/2004BurtonLabourSigned
Bob Spink19/04/2004Castle PointConservativeSigned
Tony McWalter17/05/2004Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.