Parliament Website

Fairtrade City Status For Glasgow

EDM number 320 in 2004-05, proposed by Ann McKechin on 07/12/2004.

That this House applauds Glasgow City Council's investigation of fair trade status for the City of Glasgow; notes the increasing awareness of people in Glasgow of the issues surrounding fair trade; also notes the growing number of Glasgow's shops, cafes; restaurants; workplaces, schools, places of worship and community facilities using and selling fair-trade products; further notes the enthusiastic support of Glasgow's citizens for the campaign for fair trade status; recognises the ongoing importance of fair trade as an effective way of empowering disadvantaged producers; and calls upon the City Council to support the growing campaign to give Glasgow Fairtrade City status.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Ann McKechin07/12/2004Glasgow, MaryhillLabourProposed
John Robertson07/12/2004Glasgow, AnnieslandLabourSigned
Tom Harris07/12/2004Glasgow, CathcartLabourSigned
David Marshall07/12/2004Glasgow, ShettlestonLabourSigned
Ian Davidson07/12/2004Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Martin Smyth08/12/2004Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn08/12/2004JarrowLabourSigned
Albert Owen08/12/2004Ynys MLabourSigned
Ann Cryer08/12/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Hywel Francis08/12/2004AberavonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock08/12/2004Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir08/12/2004AngusScottish National PartySigned
Sue Doughty09/12/2004GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Tynan09/12/2004Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
Win Griffiths09/12/2004BridgendLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/12/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Rob Marris09/12/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Alice Mahon09/12/2004HalifaxLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/12/2004ChorleyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon09/12/2004North DownUUPSigned
Richard Burden09/12/2004Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Rudi Vis13/12/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Betty Williams13/12/2004ConwyLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing13/12/2004PerthScottish National PartySigned
Janet Dean13/12/2004BurtonLabourSigned
John McDonnell13/12/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/12/2004Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson13/12/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones14/12/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge14/12/2004Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones15/12/2004CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Hamilton15/12/2004MidlothianLabourSigned
David Crausby16/12/2004Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Gavin Strang16/12/2004Edinburgh East & MusselburghLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar21/12/2004Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
Alan Meale10/01/2005MansfieldLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.