Parliament Website

Future Security Of Energy Supply

EDM number 330 in 2004-05, proposed by Denis Murphy on 07/12/2004.

That this House notes with great concern the continuing and dramatic rise in energy prices throughout the UK; further notes that huge economic growth in China and India is placing enormous strains on global energy resources; believes that relying upon importing 80 per cent. of the nation's oil and gas could affect the UK's security of supply; calls upon the Government to prevent the sterilisation of indigenous coal reserves including those at Hatfield which could make a major contribution to the UK's energy needs; and further calls upon the Government to establish a clean energy centre in the Wansbeck constituency, bringing together clean coal technology and renewable energy in the form of wind power, wave power and advanced photovoltaics combining research and development and demonstration projects.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Denis Murphy07/12/2004WansbeckLabourProposed
Ronnie Campbell07/12/2004Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Michael Clapham07/12/2004Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
John Cummings07/12/2004EasingtonLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis07/12/2004Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
David Hamilton07/12/2004MidlothianLabourSigned
Martin Smyth08/12/2004Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn08/12/2004JarrowLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/12/2004GowerLabourSigned
Ann Cryer08/12/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock08/12/2004Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Barnes08/12/2004North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
David Taylor09/12/2004North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Richard Younger-Ross09/12/2004TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths09/12/2004BridgendLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara09/12/2004Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Rob Marris09/12/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/12/2004ChorleyLabourSigned
David Drew09/12/2004StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Betty Williams13/12/2004ConwyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis13/12/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Janet Dean13/12/2004BurtonLabourSigned
John McDonnell13/12/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/12/2004Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson13/12/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jim Cousins15/12/2004Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Stephen Pound16/12/2004Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley16/12/2004Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby16/12/2004Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Llew Smith20/12/2004Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Alan Meale10/01/2005MansfieldLabourSigned
Bill Etherington18/01/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Brian White18/01/2005North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Steve Webb28/02/2005NorthavonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.