Parliament Website

Developments In Russia

EDM number 923 in 2004-05, proposed by Quentin Davies on 14/03/2005.

That this House notes that it is five years since Vladimir Putin was elected President of Russia; records its appreciation of his willingness to work constructively with the United Kingdom and its allies during that time; pays tribute to the stability and economic progress which has been achieved; but notes with alarm the increasing fragility of democratic life in Russia; expresses concern about the centralisation of political power, the worrying shift away from the rule of law, increases in human rights violations, growing restrictions on media freedom and official hostility to the development of an independent civil society; further notes the importance of a stable democracy in Russia to Europe and to the international community as a whole; and strongly urges the United Kingdom Government to use its influence, including its Presidency of the G8, to do all it can to support and encourage renewed progress towards democratic reform in Russia.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Quentin Davies14/03/2005Grantham & StamfordConservativeProposed
Edward O'Hara14/03/2005Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Martin Smyth15/03/2005Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Colin Breed15/03/2005South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn15/03/2005Newport WestLabourSigned
David Taylor15/03/2005North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Nigel Dodds16/03/2005Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Andrew Dismore16/03/2005HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer16/03/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/03/2005GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell16/03/2005East LondonderryDUPSigned
David Kidney16/03/2005StaffordLabourSigned
Iris Robinson16/03/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/03/2005Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Drew17/03/2005StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Andrew George17/03/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Tyler17/03/2005North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Wilkinson18/03/2005Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSigned
Annette Brooke18/03/2005Mid Dorset & North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Syd Rapson21/03/2005Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders21/03/2005TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones22/03/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz22/03/2005Leicester EastLabourSigned
Lynne Jones23/03/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Angus Robertson04/04/2005MorayScottish National PartySigned
Roger Williams04/04/2005Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson06/04/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.