Parliament Website

Oversight Of International Monetary Fund And World Bank Policies

EDM number 952 in 2004-05, proposed by Claire Curtis-Thomas on 17/03/2005.

That this House notes that 2005 is the 60th anniversary year of the creation of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank - the Bretton Woods Institutions (BWIs); recognises that the IMF and World Bank have voiced a commitment to ensuring that individual countries determine their own economic policies; further notes that key economic policies continue to be imposed by both the World Bank and IMF as conditions for receiving debt relief and new loans, with the Boards of the BWIs retaining the power of veto over all measures including those in poverty reduction strategy papers; calls upon the BWIs and their principal shareholders to ensure that the democratically elected representatives of recipient nations are the final arbiters of all economic policies in their countries; believes that it is vital that national parliaments in recipient nations have the right and obligation to be fully involved in the development and scrutiny of all measures associated with BWI activities within their borders, and to hold the final power of ratification; and further believes that ensuring the primacy of sovereign national parliaments in this way will improve implementation of measures to reduce poverty, enhance good governance and foster democracy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Claire Curtis-Thomas17/03/2005CrosbyLabourProposed
Win Griffiths18/03/2005BridgendLabourSigned
Harry Barnes18/03/2005North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/03/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer21/03/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/03/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell21/03/2005Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
David Taylor21/03/2005North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Simon Thomas21/03/2005CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Nigel Jones22/03/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Wyatt22/03/2005Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Andrew George22/03/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin22/03/2005Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Kevin McNamara22/03/2005Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
David Lepper22/03/2005Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Lynne Jones22/03/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Robert Wareing23/03/2005Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis23/03/2005Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/03/2005GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/03/2005Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Richard Burden23/03/2005Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Paul Tyler24/03/2005North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian White24/03/2005North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Parmjit Gill24/03/2005Leicester SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley24/03/2005Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Nick Harvey24/03/2005North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Reed24/03/2005LoughboroughLabour Co-operativeSigned
Stephen Pound24/03/2005Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Julie Morgan24/03/2005Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Tom Brake04/04/2005Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett04/04/2005Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/04/2005Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson06/04/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne06/04/2005AyrLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis06/04/2005Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/04/2005MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.