Parliament Website

Announcement Of Major Policy Decisions

EDM number 985 in 2004-05, proposed by Roger Williams on 22/03/2005.

That this House re-affirms its conviction in the primacy of parliamentary democracy; notes that to do so requires the convention to be observed whereby Parliament is the first body to hear of Government decisions and announcements; deplores the culture of spin which is emasculating the purpose of Parliament and condemns instances where Government departments have used media outlets to usurp the primacy of an elected chamber; further notes that such a case occurred over the naming of the Welsh regiments and is characteristic of the style of the current Government; and recognises that to fulfil their function of holding the Government to account, honourable Members should look to the business of both chambers and not the national press.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Roger Williams22/03/2005Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew George22/03/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/03/2005TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson23/03/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
Paul Holmes23/03/2005ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones23/03/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell23/03/2005East LondonderryDUPSigned
Peter Bottomley23/03/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Sandra Gidley24/03/2005RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Tyler24/03/2005North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Parmjit Gill24/03/2005Leicester SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke24/03/2005Mid Dorset & North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed24/03/2005South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heath24/03/2005Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Adam Price04/04/2005Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Simon Hughes04/04/2005North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake04/04/2005Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock04/04/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett04/04/2005Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell04/04/2005Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Smyth05/04/2005Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Roy Beggs05/04/2005East AntrimUUPSigned
Simon Thomas06/04/2005CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.