Parliament Website

Mandela Statue In Trafalgar Square

EDM number 1319 in 2005-06, proposed by Diane Abbott on 09/01/2006.

That this House welcomes the proposal to erect a 2.7 metre statue of Mr Nelson Mandela in London's Trafalgar Square; disagrees with the Deputy Prime Minister that such a statue would be visually intrusive or clutter the Square or that it would detract from the character of Trafalgar Square and believes that a statue of the man who symbolises one of the most important struggles for justice in the 20th century would rather enhance the character of the Square; stresses that Mandela is a world statesman, not simply a South African figure, and that the North terrace of the Square is a justified location; notes a recent opinion poll showing that Londoners are heavily in favour of the statue; and congratulates the Mayor of London for his vigilant commitment to ensuring that such a statue is erected.

This motion has been signed by a total of 58 MPs.

Diane Abbott09/01/2006Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourProposed
Andrew Dismore10/01/2006HendonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale10/01/2006MansfieldLabourSeconded
Ashok Kumar10/01/2006Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSeconded
Chris Bryant10/01/2006RhonddaLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn10/01/2006Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Paul Keetch10/01/2006HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing10/01/2006Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis10/01/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/01/2006GowerLabourSigned
David Lepper10/01/2006Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Lynne Jones10/01/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Brian Iddon10/01/2006Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Janet Dean11/01/2006BurtonLabourSigned
Linda Riordan11/01/2006HalifaxLabourSigned
Keith Vaz11/01/2006Leicester EastLabourSigned
Desmond Turner11/01/2006Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Mark Durkan11/01/2006FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin11/01/2006Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Harry Cohen11/01/2006Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/01/2006Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Greg Pope12/01/2006HyndburnLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/01/2006Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson12/01/2006Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell12/01/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Chaytor12/01/2006Bury NorthLabourSigned
Angela Eagle12/01/2006WallaseyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn12/01/2006Newport WestLabourSigned
David Borrow12/01/2006South RibbleLabourSigned
Lady Hermon16/01/2006North DownUUPSigned
Betty Williams16/01/2006ConwyLabourSigned
David Drew16/01/2006StroudLabourSigned
Sally Keeble17/01/2006Northampton NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/01/2006Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Colin Breed17/01/2006South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer17/01/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
David Hamilton17/01/2006MidlothianLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil17/01/2006Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson18/01/2006BlaydonLabourSigned
Gordon Banks18/01/2006Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
Albert Owen19/01/2006Ynys MLabourSigned
Vincent Cable19/01/2006TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Emily Thornberry20/01/2006Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
Tim Farron20/01/2006Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh20/01/2006Bradford WestLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock23/01/2006Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Tom Brake23/01/2006Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sharon Hodgson23/01/2006Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
John Hemming24/01/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey25/01/2006North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Hugh Bayley26/01/2006City of YorkLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar30/01/2006Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Edward Vaizey30/01/2006WantageConservativeSigned
Alan Simpson07/02/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn09/02/2006JarrowLabourSigned
George Galloway13/02/2006Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Rosie Cooper01/03/2006West LancashireLabourSigned
John Barrett15/05/2006Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.