Parliament Website

English National Opera

EDM number 1721 in 2005-06, proposed by Chris Bryant on 28/02/2006.

That this House congratulates English National Opera (ENO) for winning both categories at the 2006 Laurence Olivier Awards for Best New Opera Production of Madam Butterfly and for Simon Keenlyside's Outstanding Achievement in Opera performance in the title role of ENO's Billy Budd as well as in the Royal Opera House's 1984; notes that through its collaboration with Sky and Artsworld the ENO is reaching a widening audience with a broad range of productions and that through ENO Baylis, the Company's education programme, it works with over 12,000 children and adults every year; further notes that ticket sales have continued to increase due to the Company's artistic success; and wishes ENO every success in the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Chris Bryant28/02/2006RhonddaLabourProposed
Alan Meale01/03/2006MansfieldLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis01/03/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore01/03/2006HendonLabourSeconded
Bob Spink01/03/2006Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Martin Caton01/03/2006GowerLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn01/03/2006Islington NorthLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil01/03/2006Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley01/03/2006Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Ian Gibson01/03/2006Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Mark Fisher01/03/2006Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Ann Cryer01/03/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones01/03/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Joan Humble01/03/2006Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle01/03/2006ChorleyLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss02/03/2006North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
David Borrow02/03/2006South RibbleLabourSigned
Nigel Evans02/03/2006Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Jeff Ennis02/03/2006Barnsley East and MexboroughLabourSigned
Vincent Cable02/03/2006TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke03/03/2006Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams06/03/2006ConwyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/03/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Lepper07/03/2006Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Paul Murphy07/03/2006TorfaenLabourSigned
Mark Hunter07/03/2006CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins08/03/2006TamworthLabourSigned
David Chaytor09/03/2006Bury NorthLabourSigned
Derek Conway09/03/2006Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
John McDonnell06/11/2006Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.