Parliament Website

Freedom Of Expression In Turkey

EDM number 1853 in 2005-06, proposed by Martin Caton on 20/03/2006.

That this House congratulates Amnesty International on its Turkey-Freedom of Expression campaign; recognises that the new Turkish penal code which came into force on 1st June 2005 includes many positive changes, including the removal of provisions that discriminated against women; is concerned however, that it has retained restrictions on freedom of expression, especially in Articles 301 and 305, that breach the European Convention on Human Rights; commends those Turkish writers, academics and human rights activists who continue to make the case for free speech; and urges the Turkish authorities to abolish those sections of the penal code that may lead to people being prosecuted for peacefully exercising their right to freedom of expression, as recognised in international law, and to release all prisoners arrested solely for the non-violent expression of their opinions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Martin Caton20/03/2006GowerLabourProposed
Bob Spink21/03/2006Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley21/03/2006Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Devine21/03/2006LivingstonLabourSeconded
Nigel Evans21/03/2006Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Rob Marris21/03/2006Wolverhampton South WestLabourSeconded
Nick Harvey22/03/2006North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan22/03/2006FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Rudi Vis22/03/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Pugh23/03/2006SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson23/03/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt23/03/2006Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Michael Penning23/03/2006Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
John Leech27/03/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams27/03/2006ConwyLabourSigned
David Drew27/03/2006StroudLabourSigned
Ann Cryer27/03/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Vincent Cable27/03/2006TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Burden27/03/2006Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/03/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lynne Jones27/03/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Paul Holmes27/03/2006ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
David Lepper28/03/2006Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Albert Owen28/03/2006Ynys MLabourSigned
Hywel Francis28/03/2006AberavonLabourSigned
Ken Purchase29/03/2006Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore29/03/2006HendonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn29/03/2006Newport WestLabourSigned
Jo Swinson29/03/2006East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Bryant30/03/2006RhonddaLabourSigned
Bill Etherington18/04/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams19/04/2006CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
John Hemming20/04/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett15/05/2006Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.