Parliament Website

Chelmsford Award Of Fairtrade Status

EDM number 1866 in 2005-06, proposed by Simon Burns on 21/03/2006.

That this House congratulates the town of Chelmsford in achieving Fairtrade status; notes that Chelmsford was the first town in Essex and only the third in the Eastern region to be awarded Fairtrade status, and that recently this status was renewed for a second year; welcomes the firm commitment by Chelmsford Borough Council together with numerous local organisations, retailers, schools, universities, churches, faith groups and charities in supporting the extension of Fairtrade products and outlets throughout the town; further congratulates Chelmsford High Street, Anglia Ruskin University, Chelmsford Cathedral, Writtle College and Essex County Council offices for their work and dedication in hosting Fairtrade events; and urges the Government to assist Fairtrade campaigns throughout the UK to encourage consumers to provide practical help to poor producers in the developing world and in continuing to call for fairer trade terms for the world's poorest nations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Simon Burns21/03/2006West ChelmsfordConservativeProposed
Mark Francois21/03/2006RayleighConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley22/03/2006Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Spink22/03/2006Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Michael Weir22/03/2006AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Rudi Vis22/03/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle22/03/2006ChorleyLabourSigned
William McCrea22/03/2006South AntrimDUPSigned
Martin Caton22/03/2006GowerLabourSigned
Alan Simpson23/03/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Derek Conway23/03/2006Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Tony Baldry23/03/2006BanburyConservativeSigned
Lynne Jones27/03/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Ann Cryer27/03/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins28/03/2006TamworthLabourSigned
John Greenway28/03/2006RyedaleConservativeSigned
Ken Purchase29/03/2006Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis29/03/2006Barnsley East and MexboroughLabourSigned
Nigel Evans29/03/2006Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Jo Swinson29/03/2006East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell19/04/2006RomfordConservativeSigned
Greg Pope20/04/2006HyndburnLabourSigned
John Hemming20/04/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Sharon Hodgson04/05/2006Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
John Barrett15/05/2006Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.