Parliament Website

Nuclear Power Stations

EDM number 2003 in 2005-06, proposed by Mike Weir on 20/04/2006.

That this House notes with great concern the news that the clean-up cost for existing nuclear facilities is set to rise by £14 billion to £70 billion; believes that this highlights that nuclear power is expensive as well as dangerous and dirty; considers that Scotland has no need for new nuclear power stations which, according to the UK Government-appointed Committee on Radioactive Waste Management, if built, would produce radioactive waste nine times stronger than currently exists and will cost billions of pounds to both build and clean up; and further believes that the Government's nuclear ambitions should be rejected and that clean and safe energy technologies with which Scotland has the potential to lead the world should be promoted.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Michael Weir20/04/2006AngusScottish National PartyProposed
David Taylor24/04/2006North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Martin Caton25/04/2006GowerLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones25/04/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn25/04/2006Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan26/04/2006FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Ken Purchase26/04/2006Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Iris Robinson26/04/2006StrangfordDUPSigned
Rudi Vis26/04/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Linda Riordan26/04/2006HalifaxLabourSigned
Alan Simpson27/04/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn27/04/2006Newport WestLabourSigned
John Hemming27/04/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer02/05/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/05/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/05/2006Luton NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean04/05/2006BurtonLabourSigned
Angus Robertson08/05/2006MorayScottish National PartySigned
Nick Harvey08/05/2006North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Pete Wishart08/05/2006Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil08/05/2006Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Bill Etherington11/05/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams11/05/2006CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Andrew Stunell12/05/2006Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey15/05/2006Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson18/05/2006Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson22/05/2006North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Diane Abbott19/06/2006Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Lynne Featherstone03/07/2006Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson25/07/2006East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.