Parliament Website

Honorary Trade Union Membership

EDM number 2077 in 2005-06, proposed by David Anderson on 03/05/2006.

That this House congratulates Harry Barnes, the hon. Member for North East Derbyshire from 1987 to 2005, on being granted honorary membership of the Iraqi Federation of Trade Unions, the main new Iraqi trade union centre formed after the fall of Saddam Hussein; notes that honorary membership was conferred on Mr Barnes at a summit meeting between the Iraqi trade union movement and a delegation organised by Labour Friends of Iraq in Erbil, Iraqi Kurdistan in early April; and believes that the conferral of honorary membership is a fitting tribute to a man who first experienced Iraq in the mid-50s when he did his national service in that country, who consistently opposed the invasion of Iraq and then united with those who took different views to promote the interests of the free Iraqi trade union movement and wider civil society as a joint President of Labour Friends of Iraq.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

David Anderson03/05/2006BlaydonLabourProposed
Natascha Engel03/05/2006North East DerbyshireLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley03/05/2006Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Gapes03/05/2006Ilford SouthLabourSeconded
Stephen Pound03/05/2006Ealing NorthLabourSeconded
Rob Marris03/05/2006Wolverhampton South WestLabourSeconded
Bob Russell03/05/2006ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale04/05/2006MansfieldLabourSigned
David Taylor04/05/2006North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Keith Vaz04/05/2006Leicester EastLabourSigned
David Lepper08/05/2006Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Betty Williams08/05/2006ConwyLabourSigned
John Cummings08/05/2006EasingtonLabourSigned
Brian Iddon08/05/2006Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/05/2006Luton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Holmes08/05/2006ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones09/05/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/05/2006GowerLabourSigned
Michael Clapham09/05/2006Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Janet Dean09/05/2006BurtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin09/05/2006Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Andrew George09/05/2006St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ken Purchase10/05/2006Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Sarah McCarthy-Fry10/05/2006Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis10/05/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Borrow10/05/2006South RibbleLabourSigned
David Hamilton10/05/2006MidlothianLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis10/05/2006Barnsley East and MexboroughLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty10/05/2006Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley10/05/2006Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Paul Flynn10/05/2006Newport WestLabourSigned
Ann Cryer11/05/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
David Drew11/05/2006StroudLabourSigned
Bill Etherington11/05/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Janet Anderson11/05/2006Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Helen Goodman12/05/2006Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Jim Devine15/05/2006LivingstonLabourSigned
Judy Mallaber17/05/2006Amber ValleyLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson22/05/2006Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
Greg Pope25/05/2006HyndburnLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/05/2006TamworthLabourSigned
David Chaytor06/06/2006Bury NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn20/06/2006JarrowLabourSigned
Martin Linton09/10/2006BatterseaLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.