Parliament Website

Scottish Junior Football Clubs

EDM number 2178 in 2005-06, proposed by Jim McGovern on 16/05/2006.

That this House recognises the vital role that junior football clubs play in Scottish communities; recognises the need for these clubs to pay tax where this is appropriate; is concerned that recent changes to the rules regarding the payment of these tax revenues are placing an unnecessary burden on the unpaid staff who make up the committees that run these clubs; notes that these people are invaluable community activists; is further concerned that many of them are considering leaving these committees due to the increased strain placed upon them by the new guidelines; fears losing such valuable community assets; further fears the detrimental effect this will have on junior football in Scotland; and calls upon the Government to look again at the rules regarding the payment of taxes by junior football clubs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Jim McGovern16/05/2006Dundee WestLabourProposed
Brian H Donohoe16/05/2006Central AyrshireLabourSeconded
Anne Moffat16/05/2006East LothianLabourSeconded
Jim Sheridan16/05/2006Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Devine16/05/2006LivingstonLabourSeconded
David Hamilton16/05/2006MidlothianLabourSeconded
John Robertson16/05/2006Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Eric Joyce16/05/2006FalkirkLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz16/05/2006Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
John MacDougall16/05/2006GlenrothesLabourSigned
Ian Davidson16/05/2006Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Ian Gibson16/05/2006Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Banks16/05/2006Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
Katy Clark16/05/2006North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/05/2006GowerLabourSigned
Michael Weir17/05/2006AngusScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale17/05/2006MansfieldLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell17/05/2006East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ann Cryer18/05/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Janet Anderson22/05/2006Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
David Anderson22/05/2006BlaydonLabourSigned
Willie Rennie22/05/2006Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Conway23/05/2006Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Jim Dobbin24/05/2006Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis24/05/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds24/05/2006Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John McDonnell24/05/2006Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Hemming25/05/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech07/06/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson08/06/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson13/06/2006Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn20/06/2006JarrowLabourSigned
Pete Wishart09/10/2006Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.