Parliament Website

General Synod And Euthanasia

EDM number 626 in 2005-06, proposed by Frank Field on 19/07/2005.

That this House welcomes the news that the Church of England General Synod has again rejected the legalisation of both euthanasia and assisted suicide; notes that the vote rejected the legalisation of both euthanasia and assisted suicide; further notes that the vote was 293 against to one in favour; applauds His Grace the Archbishop of Canterbury for his courageous and forthright leadership on the issue; further notes that the overwhelming vote shows clearly that the occasional pro-euthanasia Church of England clergy who claim to speak for the Anglican Communion rather than the bishops is completely out of step with the body of the church; and calls on the Government to oppose any bills aimed at legalising physician-assisted suicide or euthanasia.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Frank Field19/07/2005BirkenheadLabourProposed
Ann Winterton19/07/2005CongletonConservativeSeconded
David Taylor19/07/2005North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
David Drew19/07/2005StroudLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle19/07/2005ChorleyLabourSeconded
Andrew Selous19/07/2005South West BedfordshireConservativeSeconded
Andrew Rosindell19/07/2005RomfordConservativeSigned
David Crausby19/07/2005Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin19/07/2005Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Brian Iddon20/07/2005Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton20/07/2005MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell20/07/2005East LondonderryDUPSigned
Albert Owen20/07/2005Ynys MLabourSigned
David Marshall20/07/2005Glasgow EastLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden20/07/2005Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Julian Lewis20/07/2005New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Helen Jones20/07/2005Warrington NorthLabourSigned
Bob Spink20/07/2005Castle PointConservativeSigned
Laurence Robertson21/07/2005TewkesburyConservativeSigned
Andrew Pelling21/07/2005Croydon CentralConservativeSigned
Stephen Crabb21/07/2005Preseli PembrokeshireConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley21/07/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Patrick Cormack21/07/2005South StaffordshireConservativeSigned
Peter Luff21/07/2005Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
George Galloway10/10/2005Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Robert Walter10/10/2005North DorsetConservativeSigned
Betty Williams10/10/2005ConwyLabourSigned
Iris Robinson11/10/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds11/10/2005Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson11/10/2005Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Janet Anderson12/10/2005Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Lady Hermon18/10/2005North DownUUPSigned
Derek Conway21/10/2005Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Tim Farron25/10/2005Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mohammad Sarwar14/11/2005Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Peter Bone14/11/2005WellingboroughConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.