Parliament Website

Northern Line Delays

EDM number 773 in 2005-06, proposed by Lynne Featherstone on 17/10/2005.

That this House notes with concern the ongoing delays and disruption on the Northern Line culminating in a complete shutdown of services; further notes that since the public private partnership (PPP) contracts came into force, delays caused by track, signal and train faults have increased by 30 per cent.; is concerned by the complexity of the private finance initiative and PPP contracts that have led to a lengthy procedure that has prevented the problems being resolved before Northern Line passengers had to experience the whole line being shut down; further notes Transport for London's Customer Charter which should allow commuters to receive a refund on their lost travel; and calls upon the Chancellor of the Exchequer and the Mayor of London to hold an urgent meeting to discuss how the PPP contracts could be brought back in house without extra costs to London taxpayers so that track, train and signal maintenance can be done by Transport for London.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Lynne Featherstone17/10/2005Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratProposed
Mike Hancock18/10/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ann Cryer18/10/2005KeighleyLabourSeconded
Gregory Campbell18/10/2005East LondonderryDUPSeconded
Andrew Dismore19/10/2005HendonLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis19/10/2005Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Mark Oaten19/10/2005WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter19/10/2005CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Thurso19/10/2005Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/10/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Nicholas Clegg19/10/2005Sheffield, HallamLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Burstow19/10/2005Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke19/10/2005Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty19/10/2005Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Simon Hughes19/10/2005North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle19/10/2005ChorleyLabourSigned
Iris Robinson19/10/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd20/10/2005Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
David Taylor20/10/2005North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell20/10/2005Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones20/10/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Diane Abbott20/10/2005Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/10/2005Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Tom Brake21/10/2005Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Efford21/10/2005ElthamLabourSigned
Graham Stringer21/10/2005Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
John Hemming21/10/2005Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh24/10/2005SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson25/10/2005Upper BannDUPSigned
Brian Jenkins26/10/2005TamworthLabourSigned
Rob Marris26/10/2005Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
William McCrea26/10/2005South AntrimDUPSigned
Christopher Huhne27/10/2005EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey28/10/2005North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey31/10/2005Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson03/11/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Peter LawUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.