Parliament Website

DNA Database

EDM number 44 in 2006-07, proposed by Lynne Featherstone on 15/11/2006.

That this House recognises the vital role DNA and the DNA database play in the detection of crimes but is concerned about the retention of DNA samples on the National Police Database of those individuals who are neither charged nor cautioned; further recognises the potential detrimental effect the retention of DNA samples has on innocent juveniles; further recognises that there is a disproportionate number of DNA samples retained from members of black and ethnic minorities; and therefore calls on the Government to bring forward legislation to remove the DNA samples of non-charged and non-cautioned individuals currently on the database, except when the individuals concerned give their willing and continuing consent to the retention of their DNA.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Lynne Featherstone15/11/2006Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratProposed
Michael Penning15/11/2006Hemel HempsteadConservativeSeconded
David Heath15/11/2006Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George15/11/2006St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Annette Brooke16/11/2006Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Vincent Cable20/11/2006TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Holmes20/11/2006ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan20/11/2006FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Williams20/11/2006Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/11/2006Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Moore21/11/2006Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Conway21/11/2006Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Norman Baker21/11/2006LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech21/11/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson22/11/2006North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil22/11/2006Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Michael Ancram22/11/2006DevizesConservativeSigned
Colin Breed22/11/2006South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Lembit 22/11/2006MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/11/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nick Harvey22/11/2006North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake22/11/2006Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Evan Harris23/11/2006Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell23/11/2006Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Edward Davey23/11/2006Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley27/11/2006RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter28/11/2006CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson29/11/2006East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell30/11/2006Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Eddie McGrady04/12/2006South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Malcolm Bruce05/12/2006GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen06/12/2006RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Howarth12/12/2006CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Bercow15/01/2007BuckinghamConservativeSigned
John Penrose15/01/2007Weston-Super-MareConservativeSigned
John Barrett19/02/2007Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland02/03/2007Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.