Parliament Website

Schools Academy Programme

EDM number 605 in 2006-07, proposed by Ken Purchase on 10/01/2007.

That this House is dismayed that the Government's programme of developing privately-controlled school academies is diverting tax payers' funds into the hands of super-rich sponsors, most of whom have no record of successful education management, and will possibly have serious detrimental effects on neighbouring schools; calls on the Government to fund a `control group' of non-academy schools on a like-for-like basis with academies in order to establish evidence of value for money in terms of educational outcomes; and invites the Government to establish such a control group in the City of Wolverhampton in the event of the council having to establish an academy as a condition of securing much-needed funding under the Building Schools for the Future programme.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Ken Purchase10/01/2007Wolverhampton North EastLabourProposed
Ian Gibson11/01/2007Norwich NorthLabourSeconded
David Taylor11/01/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones11/01/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn11/01/2007Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell15/01/2007Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson15/01/2007Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/01/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
Albert Owen16/01/2007Ynys MLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/01/2007GowerLabourSigned
Ann Cryer16/01/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn16/01/2007Newport WestLabourSigned
George Galloway16/01/2007Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Linda Riordan17/01/2007HalifaxLabourSigned
Katy Clark17/01/2007North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Robert Wareing17/01/2007Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
David Clelland17/01/2007Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Colin Burgon17/01/2007ElmetLabourSigned
Rudi Vis17/01/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Pugh18/01/2007SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson18/01/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington18/01/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Evan Harris19/01/2007Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Prentice22/01/2007PendleLabourSigned
Paul Holmes22/01/2007ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen22/01/2007Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Michael Clapham24/01/2007Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
John Hemming24/01/2007Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Wood24/01/2007Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Dai Davies25/01/2007Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Diane Abbott19/02/2007Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
John Leech09/03/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes13/03/2007Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas22/03/2007DagenhamLabourSigned
Paul Rowen18/04/2007RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell09/05/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Robert Marshall-Andrews18/07/2007MedwayLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.