Parliament Website

Commission For Rural Communities Report

EDM number 1717 in 2007-08, proposed by Nigel Evans on 06/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Agriculture, Countryside, Farmers and Small businesses.

That this House notes the recent report of the Commission for Rural Communities; further notes that Stuart Burgess, the chairman of the Commission for Rural Communities, has said that rural areas have up to £347 billion a year of untapped potential; regrets that rural communities are often marginalised by the Government which has led to the decline of the importance of villages; and calls on the Government to implement the findings of the report, namely to install an economic minister to oversee support of rural economies, a rural summit to pursue local business, a rural finance forum to tap into private and public money and a rural innovation initiative to encourage entrepreneurs and ensure access to resources such as broadband.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Nigel Evans06/06/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeProposed
Christopher Chope06/06/2008ChristchurchConservativeSeconded
Greg Knight06/06/2008East YorkshireConservativeSeconded
Bob Spink09/06/2008Castle PointUKIPSeconded
Nicholas Winterton09/06/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSeconded
James Gray09/06/2008North WiltshireConservativeSeconded
Colin Breed10/06/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell10/06/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ann Winterton10/06/2008CongletonConservativeSigned
Philip Dunne10/06/2008LudlowConservativeSigned
David Simpson11/06/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Rudi Vis11/06/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley11/06/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Elfyn Llwyd11/06/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Lembit 12/06/2008MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams13/06/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/06/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Sammy Wilson17/06/2008East AntrimDUPSigned
Dan Rogerson18/06/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Soames19/06/2008Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Malcolm Moss26/06/2008North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.