Parliament Website

Top Of The Bench Competition

EDM number 1810 in 2007-08, proposed by Lynne Featherstone on 17/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Schools and Science.

That this House celebrates the achievement of Highgate School in winning the Royal Society of Chemistry's Top of the Bench competition in 2008; notes that secondary school students from 27 schools across the United Kingdom contested the 2008 nationwide competition, the final of which was held in the Science Museum, London; further notes that the competition involved both a knowledge test, a research exercise involving the Science Museum's galleries, and a team problem-solving exercise held in Imperial College science laboratories; congratulates the winning students Charlie Bruce, Jack Saville, David Ooi and Max Jamilly and their chemistry teacher Mr Kamaljit Bains; and applauds the constructive role that the Top of the Bench competition continues to have in encouraging an interest in science amongst young people.

This motion has been signed by a total of 15 MPs.

Lynne Featherstone17/06/2008Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Spink17/06/2008Castle PointUKIPSeconded
Mark Hunter18/06/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Nigel Evans18/06/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Glenda Jackson18/06/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones18/06/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Brian Iddon18/06/2008Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Keith Vaz19/06/2008Leicester EastLabourSigned
David Laws20/06/2008YeovilLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech24/06/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie24/06/2008Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell25/06/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Simpson02/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis02/07/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jo Swinson22/07/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.