Parliament Website

Tobacco Control

EDM number 1835 in 2007-08, proposed by David Taylor on 18/06/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Smoking.

That this House welcomes the publication of the Department of Health's consultation document on the future of tobacco control; believes that there is an urgent need for action to ensure that a new generation of young people do not become smokers; and calls for legislation to be included in the 2008 Queen's Speech to end all displays of tobacco products at the point of sale, to end the sale of tobacco products from vending machines and to require all tobacco products in the UK to be sold in plain packaging.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Taylor18/06/2008North West LeicestershireLabourProposed
Clive Efford19/06/2008ElthamLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins19/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones19/06/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
David Drew19/06/2008StroudLabourSeconded
Ian Gibson19/06/2008Norwich NorthLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn19/06/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer23/06/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin23/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis24/06/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty25/06/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell25/06/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton25/06/2008GowerLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Battle25/06/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Russell Brown26/06/2008Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson26/06/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams30/06/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster30/06/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
John Austin30/06/2008Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Ian Stewart01/07/2008EcclesLabourSigned
Jim Devine01/07/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson02/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty02/07/2008Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis02/07/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton03/07/2008Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Frank Doran07/07/2008Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Joan Walley07/07/2008Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Clive Betts07/07/2008Sheffield, AttercliffeLabourSigned
Frank Cook07/07/2008Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser07/07/2008DoverLabourSigned
Linda Riordan14/07/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Paul Keetch15/07/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Morgan06/10/2008Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Bob Laxton06/10/2008Derby NorthLabourSigned
Andrew MacKinlay06/10/2008ThurrockLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/10/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Harry Cohen22/10/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Chris BryantUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.