Parliament Website

Abortion, Counselling And Informed Consent

EDM number 2065 in 2007-08, proposed by Angela Watkinson on 16/07/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Health services, Medical ethics and Mental health.

That this House notes with concern that there were 198,500 abortions in England and Wales in 2007, a rise of 2.5 per cent. on 2006 and the highest total ever; notes that this represents a rate of 18.6 per 1,000 women aged 15 to 44 years and that this is comparable to the average rate of 18.8 in European countries which allow abortion on demand; further notes that European countries that have informed consent legislation (offering counselling, provision of information and/or a cooling off period) have an equivalent average rate of 11.9; further notes the Royal College of Psychiatrists' recommendation on 14th March that good practice in relation to abortion will include informed consent and that consent cannot be informed without the provision of adequate and appropriate information regarding the possible risks and benefits to physical and mental health; acknowledges that the Annual Representative Meeting of the British Medical Association (BMA) on 10th July passed a motion (545) acknowledging that abortion can be a psychologically traumatic process for women, and urges the BMA to campaign for increased counselling and support for women before and after abortion and that this is therefore now official BMA policy; and commends the amendments to the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Bill seeking to ensure that women considering abortion are offered counselling and are also adequately informed about the health consequences of abortion, of alternatives to abortion, including adoption, and of help available should they decide to continue with their pregnancies.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Angela Watkinson16/07/2008UpminsterConservativeProposed
Claire Curtis-Thomas16/07/2008CrosbyLabourSeconded
Ann Widdecombe16/07/2008Maidstone and The WealdConservativeSeconded
Geraldine Smith16/07/2008Morecambe and LunesdaleLabourSeconded
Ann Winterton16/07/2008CongletonConservativeSeconded
Jim Dobbin16/07/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Andrew Selous16/07/2008South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans16/07/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Stephen Crabb17/07/2008Preseli PembrokeshireConservativeSigned
Lee Scott17/07/2008Ilford NorthConservativeSigned
Stewart Jackson17/07/2008PeterboroughConservativeSigned
David Burrowes17/07/2008Enfield, SouthgateConservativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton17/07/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
David Taylor17/07/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
John Battle17/07/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
James Gray17/07/2008North WiltshireConservativeSigned
David Drew17/07/2008StroudLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson17/07/2008Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds17/07/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Brian Jenkins17/07/2008TamworthLabourSigned
David Simpson17/07/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Andrew Rosindell17/07/2008RomfordConservativeSigned
David Amess17/07/2008Southend WestConservativeSigned
Nigel Waterson21/07/2008EastbourneConservativeSigned
Greg Hands21/07/2008Hammersmith and FulhamConservativeSigned
Philip Davies21/07/2008ShipleyConservativeSigned
David Evennett21/07/2008Signed
Mark Durkan21/07/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Mates21/07/2008East HampshireConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson21/07/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
Edward Leigh22/07/2008GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Andrew MacKinlay22/07/2008ThurrockLabourSigned
Gary Streeter22/07/2008South West DevonConservativeSigned
Anne Main22/07/2008St AlbansConservativeSigned
Malcolm Moss06/10/2008North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Simon Hughes07/10/2008North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Pritchard07/10/2008The WrekinConservativeSigned
Joe Benton09/10/2008BootleLabourSigned
Tom Clarke14/10/2008Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Bob Spink05/11/2008Castle PointUKIPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.