Parliament Website

Tallinn European Capital Of Culture

EDM number 419 in 2007-08, proposed by Gordon Marsden on 28/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage and Eastern Europe.

That this House congratulates the people and government of Estonia on securing for Tallinn the status of a European Capital of Culture for 2011; welcomes this accolade for a city which already enjoys UNESCO World Heritage Site status and whose historic core and architectural riches already attract many visitors from EU countries, including the United Kingdom; and hopes that Tallinn's programme of activities up to and including the Capital of Culture festivities will encourage tens of thousands more British visitors to go to Estonia and experience its rich cultural and national heritage while observing the enormous strides in prosperity and regeneration Estonia has made since resuming its independence in 1991.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Gordon Marsden28/11/2007Blackpool SouthLabourProposed
Christine Russell28/11/2007City of ChesterLabourSeconded
John Austin28/11/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn28/11/2007Newport WestLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley28/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew Dismore29/11/2007HendonLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle29/11/2007ChorleyLabourSigned
Lembit 29/11/2007MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton29/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
Derek Conway29/11/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan03/12/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech03/12/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams03/12/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer04/12/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Michael Clapham05/12/2007Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil05/12/2007Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Francis05/12/2007AberavonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins05/12/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans06/12/2007Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis06/12/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Greg Pope10/12/2007HyndburnLabourSigned
Alan Simpson10/12/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/12/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Malcolm Bruce10/12/2007GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington10/12/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Hemming10/12/2007Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell11/12/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster12/12/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds10/01/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
David Crausby17/01/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Hywel Williams28/01/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.