Parliament Website

Press Complaints Commission And Giles Coren

EDM number 173 in 2008-09, proposed by Greg Hands on 08/12/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Press and Racial discrimination.

That this House notes with great sadness the decision of the Press Complaints Commission (PCC) to refuse to take action in the case of Giles Coren's article of 26 July 2008 published in The Times; supports the Federation of Poles in Great Britain in maintaining that the use of offensive words such as `polack' and the statement that Poles ` ... used to amuse themselves at Easter by locking Jews in the synagogue and setting fire to it' should most certainly be condemned and fall within the remit of the PCC; and, while saluting the dignified response of Her Excellency the Polish Ambassador, acknowledges the great pain and distress caused by this article to the Polish community in the UK and beyond.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Greg Hands08/12/2008Hammersmith and FulhamConservativeProposed
Stephen Pound08/12/2008Ealing NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Lazarowicz08/12/2008Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSeconded
Parmjit Dhanda08/12/2008GloucesterLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore09/12/2008HendonLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan09/12/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
John McDonnell09/12/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/12/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer09/12/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
David Taylor09/12/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
John Leech09/12/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil09/12/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Jim Devine09/12/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan10/12/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
David Lepper10/12/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell10/12/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins11/12/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard11/12/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Harry Cohen15/12/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Betty Williams15/12/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley16/12/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Frank Cook16/12/2008Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter17/12/2008Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabourSigned
Michael Weir18/12/2008AngusScottish National PartySigned
Marsha Singh12/01/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Colin Burgon12/01/2009ElmetLabourSigned
David Hamilton12/01/2009MidlothianLabourSigned
Greg Pope14/01/2009HyndburnLabourSigned
Paul Truswell15/01/2009PudseyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis19/01/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Phil Willis19/01/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Moss26/01/2009North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Joan Ryan28/01/2009Enfield NorthLabourSigned
Tom Levitt23/02/2009High PeakLabourSigned
Nick Palmer18/03/2009BroxtoweLabourSigned
Martin Salter01/06/2009Reading WestLabourSigned
George MudieUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.