Parliament Website

National Association Of Health Stores And The Eu Food Supplements Directive

EDM number 769 in 2008-09, proposed by David Drew on 11/02/2009.
Categorised under the topics of EU law and treaties and Food.

That this House notes with concern reports that at a recent meeting officials of the European Commission's Directorate-General Health and Consumer Affairs compared the United Kingdom's natural health product sector unfavourably to the tobacco and alcohol industries and added that the prohibition of higher potency vitamin and mineral supplements, currently accepted as safe by the Food Standards Agency, was an acceptable price to pay for the harmonisation of the market for supplements throughout the European Union; further notes the detailed impact assessment conducted by the National Association of Health Stores about the potential effect upon UK specialist retailers of a restrictive interpretation of the EU Food Supplements Directive; is alarmed by the Association's conclusions that up to 59 per cent. or 700 of such independent stores may close and 76 per cent. experience a significant impact upon staffing levels in such a scenario, leading to substantial job losses and further damage to high streets around the country; and calls on Ministers at the Department of Health, the Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform and the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs to redouble their efforts to make the European Commission see sense on this matter, in the interests both of the independent health food retailers and consumer choice.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Drew11/02/2009StroudLabourProposed
Sarah Teather11/02/2009Brent EastLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bill Olner11/02/2009NuneatonLabourSeconded
Bob Russell11/02/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Todd11/02/2009South DerbyshireLabourSeconded
Ian Stewart11/02/2009EcclesLabourSeconded
Dai Havard11/02/2009Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Andrew George11/02/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis11/02/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Leech12/02/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty12/02/2009Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle12/02/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/02/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey23/02/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Iddon23/02/2009Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson23/02/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd23/02/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Ann Cryer23/02/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore23/02/2009HendonLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard23/02/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Mike Hancock23/02/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie23/02/2009Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton24/02/2009GowerLabourSigned
Mark Hunter24/02/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson24/02/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan24/02/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin24/02/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell24/02/2009Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson25/02/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden25/02/2009Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Colin Breed25/02/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell25/02/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
John Hemming26/02/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael03/03/2009Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz03/03/2009Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds04/03/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Bill Etherington04/03/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan04/03/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins05/03/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott06/03/2009Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley10/03/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Lady Hermon11/03/2009North DownUUPSigned
Lynne Featherstone22/04/2009Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Jabez FosterUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.