Parliament Website

Michael Foot's Political Leadership

EDM number 1000 in 2009-10, proposed by Dai Davies on 03/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Death and Members of Parliament.

That this House remembers with fondness and admiration the life, political leadership, authorship, trades unionism, journalism and unrivalled oratory of Michael Foot as one of the world's greatest socialists; fully supports his lifelong backing of the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament and the necessity of a world without nuclear weapons; recalls that Michael Foot was proud to call himself an inveterate peacemonger; further recalls the sense set out in the Labour Party Manifesto for the 1983 General Election that was prescient and before its time in calling for the nationalisation of the banks; believes, had this sensible strategy by the then hon. Member for Ebbw Vale been supported, then the current economic crisis, arising from reckless and selfish behaviour of senior bankers, could have been avoided; further believes Michael Foot was a great internationalist and fighter for justice for the poor and dispossessed; and further believes that this nation would have been much better served if Michael Foot had led this country from 1983.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Dai Davies03/03/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentProposed
David Anderson04/03/2010BlaydonLabourSeconded
David Crausby04/03/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin04/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Frank Cook04/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Brian Iddon04/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer04/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma04/03/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Celia Barlow04/03/2010HoveLabourSigned
Rudi Vis04/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Drew04/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore04/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Bill Olner04/03/2010NuneatonLabourSigned
Alan Meale04/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Lynne Jones04/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle04/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Phyllis Starkey04/03/2010Milton Keynes South WestLabourSigned
Paul Keetch05/03/2010HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Laura Moffatt05/03/2010CrawleyLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara05/03/2010Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn05/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Pound08/03/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Robert Wareing08/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
John Cummings08/03/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley08/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Lembit 08/03/2010MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Prentice09/03/2010PendleLabourSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner09/03/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Janet Dean09/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington09/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell10/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ian Stewart10/03/2010EcclesLabourSigned
Michael Connarty10/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd10/03/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Katy Clark11/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil11/03/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Richard Burden16/03/2010Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Desmond Turner22/03/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd06/04/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.