Parliament Website

Scottish Gypsy Travellers

EDM number 1068 in 2009-10, proposed by Katy Clark on 10/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Equality and Ethnic groups.

That this House expresses deep concern over the continued discrimination and persecution suffered by Scottish Gypsy Travellers; notes the common heritage, culture, language and traditions of the Scottish Gypsy Traveller community; believes that discrimination against this community has no place in the United Kingdom in 2010; expresses further concern that the Scottish Parliament's Equal Opportunities Committee, the European Parliament Committee of Ministers and the UK Commission for Racial Equality have all identified a lack of legal protection for Scottish Gypsy Travellers; further notes with concern the fact that Scottish Gypsy Travellers are not one of the ethnic groups given protection under the provisions included in the Equality Bill; and calls on the Government to amend the Equality Bill to give Scottish Gypsy Travellers the same rights and protection as Romany Gypsies, Irish Travellers and other ethnic groups.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Katy Clark10/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn10/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
John McDonnell10/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
David Drew10/03/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Diane Abbott10/03/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan11/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Ann Cryer11/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil11/03/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Andy Slaughter12/03/2010Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabourSigned
Michael Connarty15/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
John Mason15/03/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Betty Williams15/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing15/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale16/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Andrew George16/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis16/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Bill Etherington17/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Tom Brake23/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen25/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.