Parliament Website

Food Labelling Regulations

EDM number 1122 in 2009-10, proposed by Norman Lamb on 17/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Food and Regulation.

That this House believes that the presence of different types of front of pack (FOP) labelling schemes in the marketplace causes shoppers difficulties in using them; recognises that independent evaluations on nutrition labelling have found that a single scheme would be helpful for consumers and that an integrated FOP labelling approach providing the elements of a high/medium/low text, traffic light colour coding and percentage guideline daily amounts (% GDA) information was most effective in terms of consumer comprehension, consumer preference and enabling consumers to assess the healthiness of a product; shares the disappointment of organisations such as Which?, Cancer Research UK, Consensus Action on Salt and Health, Diabetes UK, the National Heart Forum, Sustain and ASDA over the Food Standards Agency recommendation to allow food manufacturers and retailers to provide just two of these three elements and that they may therefore choose not to include traffic light colour coding under the proposed new scheme; notes that this will create more rather than less confusion among consumers and thereby make it harder for people to make informed decisions about the foods they eat; and therefore calls on the Government to reject the Agency's advice and implement a single scheme that will work best for consumers by supporting the integrated high/medium/low, traffic light colour coding and %GDAFOP labelling approach.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Norman Lamb17/03/2010North NorfolkLiberal DemocratProposed
Greg Mulholland17/03/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George17/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Annette Brooke17/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ann Cryer18/03/2010KeighleyLabourSeconded
John Leech18/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Edward Davey18/03/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle22/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Mark Durkan22/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Flynn22/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock22/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew23/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt23/03/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Michael Weir23/03/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Bill Etherington23/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore23/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
William McCrea24/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Lorely Burt24/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson24/03/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter24/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Horwood25/03/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh29/03/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
John Mason30/03/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Eddie McGrady06/04/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Burstow06/04/2010Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.